Where Is Motivation When I Need It?

6 Nov

It’s a quarter to seven on Saturday morning. When I went to bed last night, I decided I was going to the Y for a workout this morning. I was unable to hit the gym yesterday, as I am in the process of buying a house so I was busy. Meanwhile, 2 pieces of peanut butter toast and 20 emails later, I am still at home in my pajamas completely unmotivated to go to the gym.

I know I feel better when I go. Actually, that’s an understatement. I feel great when I go. I’m working on breaking my time for my next 5K in December, so I truly need to go. And I am super, super stressed out now that I am about to making an offer on a house in just a few hours. But, I am a tired panda, and I feel like being lazy!

We all get days like this, and it’s okay. No one is perfect and recovery can be just as important as a brutal workout. If you cheat and take an extra day once in a while, it’s no big deal. It’s when it becomes a regular habit that you get into trouble.

I honestly think I will go in a little while. I will feel better, and it will help burn off some of this energy and tension Β I’m feeling over the home buying process. But I’ve had a very long, very busy week at work, so if I end up being a bit lazy on this Saturday morning, I’m not going to feel (too) guilty about it. πŸ™‚

Tomorrow I will be going for a run in honor of the NYC Marathon. After all, if they can run 26.2, I can get 3 – 5 miles in tomorrow. πŸ™‚

But yeah, if anyone out there can send me some motivation, that would be great!

9 Responses to “Where Is Motivation When I Need It?”

  1. Tara November 6, 2010 at 3:17 PM #

    Sometimes I wish you could keep motivation in a jar and whenever you needed some just go in and take some out.

  2. laurapayette November 6, 2010 at 5:37 PM #

    Just found your blog on the WordPress homepage. Congrats on all your weight loss! I think your marathon goal is fantastic. My first endurance event was a marathon. I’ve now done two fulls and three halves. (I just did the Denver Rock ‘n Roll half.) Depending on your sense of humor, you might enjoy http://twentysixpointtwoormore.blogspot.com/. I ran with Beth for a bit when I first moved to Colorado. Well, I ran “near” her; she’s really fast! Not sure who you’ll be training with, but Runners Edge of the Rockies is a good group. I trained with them for my second full. Good luck and keep up the great work! -Laura

  3. Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:45 PM #

    Thanks for the help/stories guys! I appreciate it. Needless to say I didn’t go today. I was gone all day today and by skipping my workout this morning, it was the only 2 hrs I had to myself all day. It’s no biggie. πŸ™‚ I’ll get back on the horse tomorrow! πŸ˜›

    Laura: Thanks for the info and the link! I have a group I joined for running, but I’ll give that other one a shot.

  4. blackhuff November 6, 2010 at 10:36 PM #

    Motivation is a biggy. I do agree and like Tara says, it would be great to have some in a jar when one need it πŸ™‚
    Don’t stress too much about not exercising yesterday. A break now and then is good for the body.

    • Noel D. November 7, 2010 at 9:08 AM #

      Yeah, I’ve decided not to stress over it. LOL I’m too busy stressing over buying my first house. Yikes!

  5. laurapayette November 7, 2010 at 9:02 AM #

    Here’s one more blog you might enjoy: http://loseitin90days.wordpress.com/
    My friend, Kara, just finished a 90-day weight loss challenge, shedding 40+ pounds! She’s got a bunch more to go and is facing some definite challenges (labral tear and torn ligament being the biggest), but she inspires me!

    • Noel D. November 7, 2010 at 9:09 AM #

      Wow, thanks for the link. Best of luck to her!

  6. perfectperfectionist November 7, 2010 at 6:09 PM #

    So true, motivation is hard but you have to cut yourself slack! I lead a pretty fast-pace life, so feel better when I exercise, but there’s no use adding to the stress by beating yourself up over it.

    • Noel D. November 8, 2010 at 5:36 AM #

      Yeah, at first I felt really guilty. Now I don’t. I haven’t taken time off from the gym, significant time (i.e. more than a day of recovery) in 2 years. When I go on vacation, I still work out. So I took 3 days off in a row this week. I’m fine with that. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

