A Debt Must Be Paid

8 Nov

I think somewhere in mythology (bear with me here, it’s been a while since I touched my ancient Greek & Roman literature), it is said if you take something from the gods, they must be repaid. I took 4 days off from the gods and today they made me pay. Big time.

I’ve been working out for 3 years, hardcore for 2 of them. It has honestly been nearly 2 years since I’ve taken more than 2 days off from the gym other than being sick. When I go on vacation, I still hit the gym. Yes, I’m one of those sick people.

So this past week, I began the process of buying my very first home. An exciting process, but quite stressful to put it mildly. Needless to say between my schedule of meeting the realtor, putting in the offer and the insane amount of stress I was under, I decided not to work out for 4 days. I just couldn’t handle it, and I needed some true down time in between the chaos of home buying to veg out and decompress. At first I felt horribly guilty, then decided in the grand scheme of thing, taking 4 days off in 2 years isn’t going to kill me.

Today I made my return to the gym. The gods weren’t happy with m. I wasn’t happy with me. My lungs and legs weren’t happy with me. I paid a great price for my debt. I normally have been running 4 minutes, walking 1 minute per the Galloway method. It’s comfortable for me as a new runner to do this so I can increase my endurance and distance. Today, however, I ran 1 minute, walked 1 minute. I was getting horrific side stitches, out of breath, weak and miserable.

I couldn’t believe 4 days did this to my body. I know honestly most of it was probably because I have been stressed out and not getting enough sleep, food, etc. But whatever, today’s workout sucked. I also did 3 sets of barbell squats, bicep curls, tricep dips, pull-ups, chest press, and front & lateral raises. It was all a painful, not fun experience.

So take it from someone who has paid for the deadly sin of sloth…take a day off from the gym a few days a week. Recovery is vital for preventing injuries and improving your abilities. However, absolutely do not take 4 days off in a row. That first day back will prove to be a killer. 🙂

2 Responses to “A Debt Must Be Paid”

  1. perfectperfectionist November 9, 2010 at 4:13 PM #

    So true! I’m currently applying for an insane degree (last day of interviews today, thankfully) and have taken a lot of time off. As an overworked student, who has always also had a job, I’ve sometimes taken more time off from the gym than I should. And it has ALWAYS been a bad idea!

    • Noel D. November 9, 2010 at 6:02 PM #

      Good luck with your job and completing your degree!

Leave a Reply

