Stressed Spelled Backwards Is Desserts

13 Nov

So the past two weeks have been one of the most extremely stressful periods in my life. I have bought my first house, and I’ve found out my dad has to have a pacemaker put in. When it rains, it pours.

My body has been quite angry with me for putting all this stress on it. My stomach is knots all the time, so I haven’t been eating. And, due to the constant after work appointments I have regarding my house, my workout schedule has gotten completely screwed up. This is the worst time to have a messed up workout schedule as it helps me destress. I need the endorphins to keep me going.

The other day when I had that great run, I felt awesome that evening. I planned to go the next day, but I had to have my home inspection. Yesterday I couldn’t go because I needed to accompany my parents to the doctor to find out about my dad.

I am going today for sure as I need to run desperately. But I find it amazing how a lot of us “health/fitness freaks” do all the right things to take care of ourselves most of the time: eat fairly well, exercise regularly, get enough sleep, etc, but we can’t seem to eliminate the big S from our lives: stress.

I find it amazing the toll stress can take on our bodies and so quickly. Within hours of making the offer on my house, I lost most of my appetite because my stomach was in a knot. I am always hungry. Constantly hungry. I have the appetite of a guy. But as soon as those stress factors were thrown in, it was gone immediately.

I have tried a few things to calm down besides trying to get my workout schedule regulated. I’ve tried deep breathing, stretching, neck rolls, etc. It does help, but I forget to be consistent throughout the day.

I don’t close on my house until December 17. I have got to get this under control as the next four weeks cannot be like the last two. I am going to get my regular 4 – 5 day a week workouts in if it kills me. I need those to function and stay healthy.

My dad’s surgery is on Monday. I think it will go okay, but I’m still worried. I need to take a lesson from him though. He meditates everyday, exercises everyday and never stresses. He’s the patient, and he’s not worried at all. He still has an appetite.

So unless I want to end up in a dark corner rocking myself in the fetal position while consuming vast quantities of ice cream, I need to get a grip on stress. Stress management is just as important as eating right and exercising regularly.

2 Responses to “Stressed Spelled Backwards Is Desserts”

  1. thegeeman November 13, 2010 at 8:56 AM #

    I hope your dad’s surgery goes well. To trian for a marathon carb loading is very important. The hardest part is ther final five miles. This is when rig sets in. The wants to move but it can’t. Drink lots of water. Stay away from sugar sports drinks.. They are bad for you. make sure you take a ton of supplements. How did you come up with the blogs name. I love it.

    • Noel D. November 13, 2010 at 2:43 PM #

      Thanks for the advice. I’ve been reading a lot of marathon books to try and get prepared for training in January. My alter-ego is the pink ninja who is a girly girl but a badass. I added the skinny since this blog is focused on fitness/weight loss/health. 🙂

Leave a Reply

