I’m Not Completely Lovin’ It

24 Nov

Throughout my childhood and high school, fast food was a definite staple in my family’s life. My parents were overweight during that time, but I was one of those lucky people who could inhale anything and everything and not put on weight. Every Friday night we would run through a drive-thru for dinner.

Once I was in college, that began to taper off. Although at that point I was starting to have a weight problem and my parents still had it, we stopped eating it so much. I’d eat it with friends for lunch, but it was no longer a ritual. In the past several years since I lost weight (my parents did too), I rarely eat fast food now. As a family we make everything homemade and try to avoid processed foods. We sometimes get a pizza on a Friday night, but that’s about the extent of it now.

I’ll still get a craving for McDonald’s, because seriously those fries are the best, so I’ll grab it for lunch on occasion with my friends at work. But I never eat it for dinner anymore.

The other night our power went out. We were just getting ready to make dinner when it happened throughout the neighborhood. We waited an hour, but it didn’t come back on and we were starving. Plus it was freezing with the heat off. Since both my mom and I had showered and were in our pajamas with wet heads, we decided to run through a drive-thru as opposed to a restaurant. We hit McDonald’s because it was the closest thing.

A very interesting thing happened: none of us really liked it or felt at all satisfied. My dad pointed out that he and I eat far less calories at dinner at home than we had just consumed, but because it was healthy, unprocessed food we felt full. McDonald’s was just empty calories and a lot of them, but we were all three still hungry afterward. What was more interesting, both my dad and I were really craving salads. What had happened? 🙂

McDonald’s is as much a part of America as baseball and apple pie. I know it’s gross. I’ve seen the happy meal video where it doesn’t mold for 6 months on a table. I read Fast Food Nation. I read the caloric content of their food. I don’t care, sometimes it does taste really good. However, I’ve come to the conclusion I can never handle it for more than lunch, and I really have made a true lifestyle change. I wanted nothing more than a salad and a Subway turkey sandwich loaded with veggies. It was a true epiphany.

So I guess I’m only lovin’ it partially. I’d rather Eat Fresh.

5 Responses to “I’m Not Completely Lovin’ It”

  1. blackhuff November 24, 2010 at 11:03 PM #

    I agree with you. When one have chosen the healthy path, eating fresh and homemade, fast food just don’t cut it anymore because of their empty calories.

  2. laurapayette November 25, 2010 at 10:50 AM #

    My husband ran to McDonald’s one day recently for lunch because he only had a 15-minute window (he was at work). He said it tasted so good when he was eating it and then about 15 minutes later he felt sick. Neither of us eat fast food very often, thank goodness. I actually couldn’t have even told you where a fast food restaurant was until I got pregnant and then I went through a phase where I had to have french fries stat! But I still only went like 5 times total during my pregnancy. I haven’t been since and it will probably be a long time before I go again. I’m with you; it just doesn’t hit the spot for the calories you take in. And I’ve read the books and seen the documentaries, too — pretty gross. Enjoy your Thanksgiving!

    • Noel D. November 28, 2010 at 9:20 AM #

      Yeah it is definitely gross stuff. There are the rare times though when it hits the spot, though afterward I never feel good. 🙂 I can’t give up my French fries though. I don’t care where they come from, I heart fries big time! LOL LOL I just eat them once a week instead of everyday now. 🙂

  3. thegeeman November 25, 2010 at 1:36 PM #

    Actually McDonalds is all over the world. Mu wife is from Brasil. She loves McDonalds and coke. It is not just American. A weight problem had to do with lack of essential vitamins. Listen to Dead Doctors Don’t lie. Doctor Joel Wallick. If get a chancve read up and listen to him. He makes a ton of sense.

    • Noel D. November 28, 2010 at 9:21 AM #

      Oh I know it’s a global company. I’ve been to McDonald’s throughout the world, I just meant it was started here and it’s such a way of life here to eat fast food. McDonald’s sort of invaded other countries, but it’s not ingrained in their cultures as much as it is here.

Leave a Reply

