Jump (For Your Love)

27 Nov

Do you all have a song that gets you pumping? Whether it’s  for a workout or just that puts you in a happy mood, there’s always a song that will trigger it. Music is a powerful thing, and I think it is especially powerful for a great workout.

One of my favorite movies is Love Actually. There’s a scene where Hugh Grant dances to the Pointer Sisters classic “Jump (For Your Love).” The scene always makes me smile and as a result I love the song. I also love it as a running song. It has a great beat to get me moving. I make sure to listen to it every time I run.

When I did my first 5K, the Race for the Cure, it was the first song that came on my iPod when the race began. The first mile of the race was entirely uphill, but this great song kept me going. Now, every time I hear it, besides thinking of Hugh Grant, I think of that awesome feeling of my first race. I felt such a sense of accomplishment at that moment and so proud even though I was dying going up the hill, whenever the song comes on, I’m immediately transported to that moment.

Today I was having a difficult time on the treadmill. I took 2 days off from the gym due to migraines and was lagging big time today between that and the holiday gluttony. I was struggling and then my song came on. Suddenly, I was taken back to my race and I took off. I was getting into my groove and sailing through on the treadmill.

I was experiencing such a high, I kept going and going even though I was really tired. Often when I run and especially if I’m having an off day, I think to myself, how can I ever do a marathon (I start training January 1)? But today when that song came on, and I got my rush going, I finally thought to myself I can do a marathon.

It was a great workout and a great experience. What song does it for you?

8 Responses to “Jump (For Your Love)”

  1. JennieRuns November 28, 2010 at 8:47 AM #

    Great, and inspiring, post! I love listening to my music on the treadmill. And, Cascada usually does it for me — her songs are so upbeat that I just feel like running!

    • Noel D. November 28, 2010 at 9:18 AM #

      I have a few things by Cascada. Good stuff!

  2. Mrs. K November 28, 2010 at 8:59 PM #

    Hi, Noel,
    How about “Pop Goes My Heart” from Music and Lyrics!!! That usually gets my feet moving!

    • Noel D. November 29, 2010 at 5:22 AM #

      LOL I’ll take that too. Well frankly anytime Hugh Grant is wiggling and looking adorable, I’m game! 🙂

  3. Karen H December 14, 2010 at 12:35 PM #

    I have been so inspired reading your blog. I’m wondering if you could share your training plan for the marathon? I’ve ran two 5k’s and one 10k. I’d like to do a marathon because I think it is the “impossible.” I’m at a tough place in my life, I used to be a fit soccer player and three kids and several years later, I have let myself go. I workout several times a week, but can’t get my diet under control. I need to lose about 50 pounds and feel hopeless. I have good days and then I sabotage myself by the evening. I know I have to figure things out. Thank you for your positive voice!

    • Noel D. December 14, 2010 at 5:09 PM #

      Karen: No worries at all! I kept a food journal to control the food part of my weight loss. If you read my “About Moi” section, I go into more detail on that. For marathon training, check out “Marathon: You Can Do It” by Jeff Galloway. This is the book I’m using to figure out a training schedule, nutrition, etc. Hope it helps.

      For the record, I was hopeless too. So hopeless in fact that I gave away all of my clothes and had given up completely. Just a month later, I had started my weight loss process. It’s NEVER too late. You can get back on track. Try the food journal and start training, you will get there. GOOD LUCK!!!!

      Link to Galloway’s Book on Amazon:
      http://www.amazon.com/Marathon-You-Can-Jeff-Galloway/dp/093607048X/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1292371662&sr=1-4

  4. Karen H December 14, 2010 at 12:46 PM #

    I just read your post in December and see you address my question about marathon training. Sorry, I will read further before I post a qestion again. 🙂

    • Noel D. December 14, 2010 at 5:10 PM #

      No problem at all. I always welcome comments and questions. Probably part of the reason you sabotage yourself in the evening is you’re not eating enough throughout the day and not eating enough good things. So of course you get super hungry and binge at night. You really need a 400 –  500 calorie breakfast to kick start your day. Make sure it’s balanced with good carbs (whole wheat bread) and protein (eggs, peanut butter). Good luck!

Leave a Reply

