Holiday Confession

30 Nov

I was naughty today. Just because I’ve lost weight and more or less lead a healthy lifestyle doesn’t mean I’m immune to the temptations of 31 Flavors. Yes, I hit Baskin-Robbins today in honor of their new flavor of the month for December: Red Velvet Cake. Not to mention the fact they have their Christmas flavors in right now too (egg nog and peppermint).

I went to Baskin-Robbins today and consumed not one, but a two scoop ice cream cone. Seriously. Nearly 600 calories worth of delightful dairy goodness. I had one scoop of egg nog and one scoop of red velvet cake. The red velvet cake is seriously one of the best ice creams I’ve ever had. It was so freaking good and only there until December 31 so rush in!!!!!

What’s great is that I didn’t feel guilty. When I was overweight and ate badly I felt horrible. I felt so guilty and ashamed. I regretted every bite. Now that I’m thin and healthy, I don’t anymore. I attribute this to the fact that I eat well most of the time and exercise so that I can have days where I can be naughty and not feel badly about it. I am good 98% of the time so I can be bad 2%.

If I had a double scoop every single day, that would not be good. I would feel guilty and rightfully so. But a treat once every few weeks during a special time of year when the flavor is limited? Why not? I didn’t even work out today (another headache), but I’m not worried about it. I stayed in check on the rest of my calories and loved my Baskin Robbins.

So if you lead an overall healthy lifestyle, head out to your nearest Baskin-Robbins for a treat. If you’re still struggling with weight, but don’t want to miss out on this tasty goodness, go and heave a kid’s size scoop. Then go for a nice 25 – 30 minute walk.

Happy Holidays!

4 Responses to “Holiday Confession”

  1. Public Fat November 30, 2010 at 6:37 PM #

    I used to be ADDICTED to Gold Medal at BR back in the day..ah you’re bringing back memories! 🙂

    • Noel D. November 30, 2010 at 6:50 PM #

      I don’t think I’ve ever had that flavor. I’m normally all about the BR cookies and cream that’s made with Oreos. But during the holidays, all about the egg nog.

  2. blackhuff December 1, 2010 at 4:20 AM #

    I’m not thin yet, but I have lost 19kgs (41.88lbs) as of date and most of the time I eat healthy, so these days when I do over indulge, I don’t feel quilty about it. Why? Because this indulgement only happens once a month.
    Happy Holidays to you too 🙂

    • Noel D. December 1, 2010 at 5:29 AM #

      Congrats on your weight loss. That’s fantastic. Good luck on reaching your goal weight.

Leave a Reply

