Weight Watchers Overhauls System

5 Dec

I read an interesting article on ABC News’ website today about Weight Watchers overhauling their highly successful program. Basically WW is calorie counting, but they break it down into a points system, which some consider easier.

The new program is trying to show the value of healthy foods that contain the same points as unhealthy foods. For example, eating an apple worth 100 calories is better than eating a bag of chips worth 100 calories.

I think it’s great they’re doing this and lowering things like veggies to zero points. I love potato chips. Seriously love ’em. But I can ALMOST satisfy that craving the majority of the time by eating sugar snap peas instead. I know, I know, I sound nuts. Chips and peas are so not the same thing. But honestly, it works the MAJORITY of the time. There are times when it doesn’t, and I just eat the chips. However, for those other times, sugar snap peas contain the same crunch as chips and are very addictive to eat. They are now a zero point food in the new WW plan and it’s much better calories and vitamins for you than chips.

It sounds hard to believe, but once you start eating healthier, you eventually will crave those foods. Junk food doesn’t sound as good anymore or at least not as good as often as you previously ate it. I used to eat French fries every day. Now maybe once a week or so they sound delicious. Anymore often than that, and I feel icky and start to crave salads. Same with chips, ice cream, pizza, etc.

Check out the story and share your thoughts:  http://abcnews.go.com/Health/weight-watchers-overhauls-points-system/story?id=12317979&page=1

3 Responses to “Weight Watchers Overhauls System”

  1. Mrs. K December 6, 2010 at 7:26 AM #

    Hi, Noel,
    I hear you! I’m a chip-a-holic, too, but now that we’re eating better I would rather have an apple.
    Mrs. K.

    • Noel D. December 7, 2010 at 5:22 AM #

      So weird how that works! 🙂 LOL LOL There are times though where only the chips will satisfy, but yeah overall sugar snap peas or an apple are a great replacement. 😛

  2. www.racemagazine.com.au July 7, 2013 at 2:31 PM #

    Hello, this weekend is pleasant for me, as this moment i am reading this enormous informative post
    here at my residence.

Leave a Reply

