Why Is the Easiest Solution, the Hardest?

12 Dec

New Year’s is right around the corner and with that comes resolutions and promises to lose weight and get into shape. I must admit that I’m not very nice during the month of January. I hate the resolution crowd as I call it. They are the ones who’ve made the New Year’s resolution to lose weight and take over my gym. I can’t find parking or get on my normal machines. What’s really bad about the whole situation is that 3 weeks later, they’ll all be gone. So they will have screwed up the workouts of us regulars and then not even stick to the plan.

I don’t mean to sound mean. God knows, I tried and failed numerous, numerous times at starting my diet/exercise plan. I made many New Year’s resolutions that failed within days. Yet, I get frustrated when I can’t get on the treadmill because a newbie (you can tell by the shiny newness of their gym clothes and sneakers) is hogging it, only to disappear a few weeks later.

Diet books and weight loss programs see a serious spike in January due to this resolution business. The easiest solution is to do a simple diet and exercise plan. Eat balanced meals and smaller portions and exercise regularly. Allow yourself some splurges here and there, but overall make a lifestyle change. It’s the easiest solution because it’s the most realistic and therefore one is able to stick to it.

Yet that is almost NEVER the first solution anyone tries. It is seen as the hardest solution. So people flock to eating no carbs, downing various protein shakes, eating only veggies, or consuming a diet pill like Alli where they tell you you may pooh in your pants. Seriously. People try Alli before they try balanced meals and exercise.

Why does it seem so hard to try the easy solution? Granted it was a bit of a challenge when I first started losing weight to not eat a milkshake everyday. I was used to eating one, so it was hard initially not to. But when I realized I could maybe have a milkshake once a week or once every two weeks, it seemed okay to eat a salad with my dinner and start eating breakfast. Those changes didn’t seem so hard.

A workout was hard especially in the beginning when it was difficult to do much. But I felt better afterward. So I kept working out to feel the good feeling after it was done. I still do that. Yet, most people think it’s easier never to eat bread again.

I think the reason fad diets are so popular and why they are the first thing people gravitate to is they promise fast results. My results doing my plan were not fast. I lost 65 pounds in 14 months. That’s a long time. But I was sick and tired of the various fad diets I had tried and finally wanted permanent results as opposed to a temporary high.

So as you gear up to lose weight this New Year, make the resolution to yourself to be in it for the long haul and try the balanced diet/exercise plan. I promise if you stick with it for more than 3 weeks, I won’t give you a dirty look at the gym when you’re on my treadmill. 🙂

3 Responses to “Why Is the Easiest Solution, the Hardest?”

  1. thegeeman December 12, 2010 at 10:50 AM #

    How’s the training coming along? Forget all that stuff. It is sinch inch by inch. One step at a time. vatiams are the key. Listen to Doctor Joel Wallach. He makes total sense. I can dig what you are saying.

  2. Noel D. December 13, 2010 at 5:37 AM #

    I start marathon training in January, so right now just trying to do regular workouts. 🙂

  3. Public Fat December 21, 2010 at 6:27 PM #

    So I’m like two months ahead of resolution members, and I’m already getting anxiety thinking about how many of them are going to flood my already overcrowded gym! I’ll have to show up even earlier to my exercise classes and maybe come to the gym later to beat the rush hour crowd.

    Sigh. like you said, they won’t be there after a month anyway! (so mean, but true!)
    Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

