Success Story: Jill K

27 Dec

Thank you to Jill K. for submitting her success story. She accomplished a truly wonderful thing. Big congratulations to Jill!

Jill Knapp, 43
wife, mom, Diabetes Advocate and Motivational speaker
Before Weight: 237

What was my wake up call to lose the weight?

unfortunately hearing you have type 2 diabetes! It was very depressing to hear but I want to be around for my husband and 3 sweet children.

How I lost weight:

I logged my food, ate six small meals a day and had no refined sugar.I made lifestyle change versus diet. Diet has a finality to it – If you have a diet with an ending, what do you naturally do when it’s over? Go out and splurge. But, if your brain does what I call a paradigm shift, you actually change the way you think about food and your relationship to it. You will change your habits for the rest of your life.
I worked out five days a week, cardio mixed with weight training was my exercise routine.  It took a few years but I reached my goal. I lost 100 pounds!!  After I got the weight off I did something I would have never thought possible.  I competed in the Mrs. Idaho Pageant Aug of 2010.  I made 2nd runner up and best interview.  I am now a motivational speaker to help motivate other to lose weight and live a healthy lifestyle. I am also a diabetes advocate and educate others on type 2 diabetes in hopes they will never have to go through what I went through. I run a web site to continue to help other by giving tips and inspiring them to make and keep goals and give in site on ways that can help them.
I love my life! I feel I was born to help others in there own journey to better health and weight loss.

Tips:

  • Eat six small meals a day vs. 3 big one.
  • Never starve yourself. You won’t lose eight that way.
  • Be consistent
  • If you can, get a personal trainer, even if you can afford only once a week. The knowledge you will gain is priceless.
  • Gather support as you are losing the weight from friends and family to help be there for you through your journey.
  • Journal your food intake!
  • Be patient with yourself. It did not take you a few weeks to put on the weight and it’s going to take much longer then a few weeks to take off the weight.
  • Keep in mind how happy you will be at the end of your journey!

After weight: 137

To learn more about Jill Visit her web site. http://getupandgetmoving.net

 

6 Responses to “Success Story: Jill K”

  1. Gina December 28, 2010 at 10:42 AM #

    My Dad, Aunt and 3 brothers have type 2 diabetes. I don’t want that wake up call. All though slow I started my lifestyle change just before thanksgiving. Hoping to have the same success. Very moving story.

  2. mrscummingsrx December 28, 2010 at 12:20 PM #

    Oh my god! She looks amazing! Congrats…..how inspiring!

  3. thegeeman December 29, 2010 at 8:21 AM #

    She looks good. It is portion control and lack of vatiams. Listen to Doctor Joel Wallack.

  4. Pam December 29, 2010 at 11:43 PM #

    I am thinking that she did do will with portion control. I am not so good at this. I will try mucho harder.

  5. GreenTea January 8, 2011 at 2:55 PM #

    I really think Green Tea is working for me. She looks wonderful and what an amazing story. I am super inspired but her story. I just joined a gym and love it.

  6. Connie Bennett February 8, 2011 at 6:30 PM #

    I have to say I have been really bad at eating within the portions I should. My weight goes up and down and up again. I need some of her will power. Great story.

Leave a Reply

