The Courage to Start

2 Jan

Today marks day one of my marathon training. For the next 10 months, I am embarking on a training regimen that encompasses running and/or cross training 5 – 6 days a week. I’m scared to death, and I am not entirely looking forward to it. However, I know when I am crossing the finish line of the Denver Rock & Roll Marathon with my arms held high, it will be worth every second.

I had reconstructive foot surgery on November 16, 2007. It took nearly 2 years to fully recover and be completely out of pain. My doctor told me I would never run again. I’ve run 2 5K races, and today I start the biggest physical challenge of my life. So much for doctors, right? πŸ™‚

One of my favorite running quotes is by John Bingham, “The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.” I love this quote, it is so inspiring and it is so true. Finishing a marathon is going to be an extremely, extremely difficult task. I give enormous kudos to anyone who completes that distance, but truthfully, I think it takes more courage to start than to finish. It is such a huge undertaking that most are so scared they never try. To take the first step by starting shows great courage and dedication.

So I am encouraging all of you today to have the courage to start. It doesn’t have to be marathon training. It can be the start of a new weight loss plan or new exercise regimen. It can be starting a new job or relationship. Don’t do it because the calendar says so and most of the world is trying something new. Start because you have always wanted to and now is the time to do it. You can succeed and you can finish.

Today’s Run: 2.04 miles / 31:23 / 143 ft elevation gain

Tragically slow, but it was day one, mostly uphill and about 8 degrees out. πŸ™‚ LOL Eh, whatever, I’d probably be that slow on flat land in 65 degree weather, but it’s a START!

2 Responses to “The Courage to Start”

  1. thegeeman January 3, 2011 at 7:40 AM #

    Go for it. LSD Long slow distance is the key. Get the negative out of your head. Stay positive. You can do it. Build slowly. Go for it. This goes to show you how much doctors know. They can’t measure a person’s heart.

  2. Noel D. January 4, 2011 at 5:35 PM #

    Thanks! I am really trying to stay motivated and positive. I am watching and reading a lot of books/documentaries on marathons. They keep me inspired and keep the scary thoughts out of my head. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I just want to finish in 6 hrs since that is the time limit. No crazy goals in mind. It’s all about completion!

Leave a Reply

