Marathon Training: Day 5 / 1 Wk Complete

9 Jan

Well I have the first full week of marathon training under my belt. I didn’t quite achieve what I wanted to in terms of distance or pace, but I am going to cut myself some slack since it’s only the first week. I know I’m starting ahead of what a lot of people start at in terms of my fitness level and those people still complete the races. So I’m not too worried. I’m just overly competitive and hard on myself.

But I am going to celebrate the good. I worked out 5 days this week and finished week one of training. Only 9 months and 3 weeks to go! I ran a total of 8.89 miles this week. To date (since August 2, 2010), since I became a runner, I have run 125.32 miles. I feel pretty good about that! I just have to remember: small steps, small goals. In the next 10 months, I will get a good pace and be able to do the 26 miles. You have to walk before you can run, or maybe in this case, I have to crawl before I can walk.

Today I was supposed to get 4 – 6 miles of hill work in. Instead I got 1.89 miles of hill work in. I was having an off day. It is about 10 degrees outside and snowing. Just wasn’t my day to do this. I’m proud I did anything at all.

Here’s to another week ahead!

Leave a Reply

