Marathon Training Day 7: I Run For Life

14 Jan

Yesterday was day 7 of my marathon training. I was almost not going to run at all yesterday and take it as one of my XT days—all upper and lower body strength training. I did upper body weights and then I decided to run after all. I saw someone else on the treadmill, and it was calling me.

I was having a hard time yesterday with getting into the groove. It usually takes me about 10 minutes to get out of the slump and into a rhythm, but I was struggling yesterday. My other favorite running song (besides Jump For Your Love) came on my iPod: “I Run For Life” by Melissa Etheridge.

She wrote the song for breast cancer races since she herself battled the disease, but a lot of the lyrics I can identify with. Not that I’m comparing my injury to something as horrific as cancer, but there are a lot of things she says in the song that make me think of it and urge me to keep going.

Anyhow, I was running when the song came on and about a minute into it, I got the most profoundly intense runner’s high I’ve ever had. A huge smile spread across my face, and I felt absolute pure joy and happiness for several minutes. I felt like I was on air, and I suddenly had the strength of “ten Grinches plus two.” I kept running and running, chasing the high. It was the best feeling in the world.

At that moment, I felt like nothing was impossible anymore, including the marathon. I was thinking I’m going to rock that race and have the time of my life. All of the stress of the work day floated away, and I was off in my happy world. I must have looked ridiculous to be smiling so hard on the treadmill, but thankfully no one said anything. 🙂

It ended up only being a 25:39 minute run for 2.0 miles, but it was one of my better times (last week I did 2 miles in 31 min), but it was truly the best run of my life. I’m going to go out there and kick the 26.2 mile monster in the behind!

“I Run For Life” by Melissa Etheridge

It’s been years since they told her about it
The darkness her body possessed
And the scars are still there in the mirror
Everyday that she gets herself dressed
Though the pain is miles and miles behind her
And the fear is now a docile beast
If you ask her why she is still running
She’ll tell you it makes her complete

[Chorus:]
I run for hope
I run to feel
I run for the truth
For all that is real
I run for your mother, your sister, your wife
I run for you and me, my friend
I run for life

It’s a blur since they told me about it
How the darkness had taken its toll
And they cut into my skin and they cut into my body
But they will never get a piece of my soul
And now I’m still learning the lesson
To awake when I hear the call
And if you ask me why I am still running
I’ll tell you I run for us all

[Chorus:]
I run for hope
I run to feel
I run for the truth
For all that is real
I run for your mother your sister your wife
I run for you and me my friend
I run for life

And someday if they tell you about it
If the darkness knocks on your door
Remember her remember me
We will be running as we have before
Running for answers
Running for more

I run for hope
I run to feel
I run for the truth
For all that is real
I run for your mother, your sister, your wife
I run for you and me my friend
I run for hope
I run to feel
I run for the truth
For all that is real
I run for your mother your sister, your daughter, your wife
For you and me my friend
I run for life
Ohohohoh

I run for your mother your sister your wife
I run for you and me my friend
I run for life

2 Responses to “Marathon Training Day 7: I Run For Life”

  1. Laura January 14, 2011 at 7:46 PM #

    That just may be your go-to song when you hit the wall in your marathon and/or as you’re approaching the finish. 🙂 I listened to Vivir la Vida by Area 305 at the end of my half-marathon in October. It gave me that same burst of energy and just when I needed it most because all I wanted to do was stop running and lay down!

  2. Noel D. January 18, 2011 at 6:05 AM #

    Yeah, I will definitely have it for race day as a pick me up when I’m hitting the wall. 🙂 🙂 🙂 I will check out your song on iTunes. 🙂 Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

