The Real Deal on Fast Food

27 Jan

I saw an article online this week on ABC News.com about a woman suing Taco Bell for false advertising. Taco Bell was offering a 99 cent burrito filled with beef, cheese and other yummy goodness. The woman was suing, however, because it apparently wasn’t filled with beef. Well, it was filled with only 35% beef. The rest was fillers, binders and chemicals to simulate beef.

I eat Taco Bell about 3 times a year. Three times a year,  I get a serious craving for it, think it’s a good idea and usually spend the rest of the day regretting it. Now I know why. I knew their food quality was questionable. I mean seriously, how can you offer anything remotely good for you for only 99 cents? But I didn’t think it was quite that bad.

But, when we put foods like that into our bodies, is it any wonder that America has obesity problem? If Taco Bell is doing it, then so is everyone else in the fast food industry. And again, I think if you indulge once in a while, no big deal. Everyone has to have some junk food sometimes. But the people who have steady diets of this stuff, it’s scary. It’s so processed and full of chemicals.

I don’t think it stops at fast food either. I think the majority of the boxed and frozen foods at the grocery stores are in the same league. Things that are processed are no longer natural. They are pumped full of chemicals and excess salt to build up flavor.

You want to lose weight? Start shopping the perimeter of the grocery store. Don’t venture down the aisles if you can avoid it. Or if you do, have it be for things like spices or pasta—not boxed or frozen dinners. Buy real meats, produce and dairy products. If you’re switching over from a steady diet of processed or fast food and start this type of shopping, you’ll notice a difference right away.

You’ll probably not only lose weight, but start to feel better and have more energy too. A few weekends ago, I went to visit some family out of state. That family member doesn’t cook and didn’t have any groceries. As a result, we ate out the whole weekend. I felt so gross by the end of the weekend, and I was up several pounds. I craved a salad so badly I would have sold my kidney to get one.

Bottom line: indulge once in a while in something naughty. That’s not going to hurt you. But on a regular basis, remember all the scary things in fast food and processed food and try to make healthier choices.

2 Responses to “The Real Deal on Fast Food”

  1. thegeeman January 27, 2011 at 12:10 PM #

    Taco bell is cool. How is the training going? I hope all is well.

  2. Noel D. January 27, 2011 at 5:05 PM #

    Training is good, thanks. I was off to a slow start the first two weeks because of serious schedule conflicts (went out of town, took on a second job). But this is why I’m giving myself 10 months of training instead of 6, because I know stuff will come up. I’ve gotten back on track and I think I’m doing well. 5 miles is ahead of me this Saturday, MAYBE 6 if I’m ambitious.

Leave a Reply

