Nobody But Me

17 Feb

This commercial from Nike is my newest inspiration and motivation to keep going with my marathon training. Although it’s an older song from the 60s, it really gets me pumped and I play it repeatedly while I run.

While the singer rattles off all the things (are they dances or what? Never have understood the lyrics) that no one can do like him, I quietly whisper the word “marathon” as a replacement. It keeps me motivated and brings a smile to my face. Of course, in reality, most people can do a marathon better than I will be able to. I’m very slow, and I’ll be thankful to finish in the required 6 hours, but when I’m running and I whisper that word to the song, well I almost feel like it’s true.

What inspires/motivates you when you’re working out or running?

3 Responses to “Nobody But Me”

  1. blackhuff February 17, 2011 at 5:59 AM #

    What an awesome Inspiration ad this is from Nike. Have the same feeling as you – motivated again to keep going. Wow!

  2. thefightandflightresponse February 18, 2011 at 7:12 AM #

    that’s so great!! thanks for sharing. i use music on the treadmill – certain songs really inspire me too during intervals – but i also find various mental exercises work really well, like visualizing the finish line and what crossing the line will feel like, or picturing inspiring people in my life running beside me, encouraging me to the finish etc. it’s also important to mix up where you run – i love to run when i travel, or go to different areas near where i live. otherwise i have trouble staying motivated to do long runs – just gets so boring!

  3. Noel D. February 19, 2011 at 7:25 AM #

    I do picture myself crossing the finish line a lot when I run, especially towards the end when it gets really tough. That definitely keeps me going!

Leave a Reply

