Marathon Training: Days 26 – 29

11 Mar

Day 26: Treadmill plus upper body weights, ran 3.27 miles in 44 min

Day 27: Ran 2.33 miles in 30 minutes, upper body weights

Day 28: Ran 2.28 miles in 30:40, really hard run as plagued by side stitches the whole time. Also did upper body weights

Day 29: Lower body strength training.

3 Responses to “Marathon Training: Days 26 – 29”

  1. Susie March 11, 2011 at 6:12 AM #

    Noel,
    Side stitches are awful. I used to get them all of the time and tried everything to prevent these when I ran or did races. Let me know if you ever find the answer. Proud of you.

  2. Noel D. March 12, 2011 at 7:39 AM #

    A lot of it has to do with hydration. If I’m dehydrated before I run, then I tend to get them. So I try to make sure I drink water leading up to it, but not too much cuz that can cause them too. As for relieving them, stretching your upper body before you run helps. A lot of time it’s caused by your diaphragm constricting so if you really stretch out your torso and stuff before, it helps. But I tried EVERYTHING to get rid of them on Wednesday and no luck. 😦 😦

  3. thegeeman March 13, 2011 at 2:33 PM #

    Drink lots of water. stretching is important too. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

