Digging Deep

15 Mar

The past two weeks have been insanely busy–I was out of town for a whirlwind wedding in Chicago and work has been nuts. Plus, I’m trying to help my parents get their house ready to sell. I was super behind this weekend on cleaning my house, grocery shopping, and laundry. Sunday, I got up at 7:00 and decided I didn’t have the time to do my long run of 7 miles.

The guilt gnawed at me as well as fear. I’ve heard that you can have some off days during the week, but never ever cheat on a weekend long run when marathon training. So I had great fear that I was screwing up my training, but at the same time felt overwhelmed with everything that needed to get done.

Around noon, the guilt got the better of me, and I decided to go. I bargained with myself that i’d do just 3 miles instead of 7 so i could get home and get the rest of my chores done.

I started my run and was feeling good, especially knowing it would end soon. However, when i was at the 3 mile mark, i started to get the runner’s high. I was really enjoying the sunshine and weather, i decided to keep going and to do the whole 7 miles.

I dug deep and kept my energy going and finished my distance shaving 5 minutes of my previous time and 30 seconds off my average pace. Most of all, i felt proud that i forced myself to go and i did the schedule’s required distance.

So if you feel discouraged or that you don’t have the energy, dig deep and fight your doubt to go and do your workout. You go to bed at night regretting you didn’t go and workout. No one goes to bed wishing they hadn’t gone to the gym.

One Response to “Digging Deep”

  1. blackhuff March 16, 2011 at 7:38 AM #

    I’m glad you did the training. Although I don’t do marathon training, I also feel guilty when I chicken out on a workout over the weekend and then you will also find me doing it in the afternoon 🙂

Leave a Reply

