A Milestone

20 Mar

After my foot surgery on November 16, 2007, my doctor told me I’d never run again. He had to reconstruct the arch of my right foot after a car accident caused it to collapse. I was 205 lbs and in excruciating pain, so I believed him at that moment. A year later, though still in pain, I was trying to get my life back together. I decided to start exercising and trying to lose weight. I kept at it for months and finally my pain went away in January 2008 so I was able to do more.

I tried and tried, but couldn’t even walk on a treadmill much less run. I stuck to low impact activities like the elliptical and stair stepper plus weight lifting. I was inspired by The Biggest Loser and how the final contestants run a full marathon at the end of each season. I was determined that one day I would be able to run again.

On August 2, 2010, I became a runner. I did 0.8 miles in 10 minutes, a tragically slow pace and pathetic amount. But I decided that on that day I was going to run a 5K on September 12. I ran the race (3.10 miles) in 40:06. I was a runner.

Today, I reached three milestones. The first two were that I ran the furthest and the fastest I’ve ever run. I ran 8 miles in 1:38:40, which is an average pace of 12:20. An average pace of 13:30 is required to finish a full marathon in the time limit of 6 hours. I beat that pace by 1:10. My third milestone is that I broke 200 total miles run today. I’ve run 206.15 miles since August 2.

Not bad for a former crippled fat girl. Not bad at all!

Leave a Reply

