A Perfect 10

3 Apr

Today I ran 10 miles, the furthest I’ve ever gone before. It was a far from perfect run; I hit the wall at mile 8.8 and the last 1.2 miles nearly killed me. I could barely move my legs I was in so much pain. I wanted to die, everything hurt so badly. I lost pace the last 1.2 miles and ended up finishing with an average pace of 13:44 which bummed me out. I had been sticking with 13:15 – 13:20. But what made it a perfect run was that I finished it.

I started out the first 5 miles really strong. I felt great. I had an awesome runner’s high going for a while. The weather was beautiful, and I felt on top of the world. There was a great breeze and an occasional sprinkle of rain to cool me off. I felt like I belonged outside and that I was going to kick the 10 miles in the butt.

Then everything went to hell at mile 8.8. At that moment, I wanted to quit more than anything. I would have gladly given a kidney to be able to quit. Honestly I could have stopped and no one would have blamed me for it. My legs hurt so badly it was almost more painful to walk than to run. But then I decided that I had set the goal of 10 miles, and I had to finish. I couldn’t be dishonest with myself, and I knew I’d feel guilty the rest of the day.

I dug deeper than ever before and pulled out the last 1.2 miles. I was fighting back tears, but I did it. I’ve never felt such a feeling of accomplishment as when I finished. I did it! I ran 10 miles when I was told I’d never be able to run again. I pushed through the wall and met my goal.

So it may not have been a perfect run by anyone in the running world, but for me, it was a perfect run, a perfect 10.

2 Responses to “A Perfect 10”

  1. Numberz Runner April 3, 2011 at 4:08 PM #

    A huge congratulations to you. Way to keep pushing yourself and finishing it off. Trust me, as bad as it may have felt, it would have felt worse (and for far longer) if you had given up.

    I thought I’d share my thoughts on what 10-miles has meant to me over the past couple decades: http://numberzrunner.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/todays-numberz-10-miles-aka-how-far-is-far/.

    Keep up the running. And congrats again on an impressive day. Be proud of yourself!

    • Noel D. April 3, 2011 at 5:00 PM #

      Thanks for sharing your post. It was really inspirational. And thanks for the kudos. I do feel really good and proud of finishing! Next time I hope to improve my time. Good luck at your marathon, knock em dead!

Leave a Reply

