The Kindness of Strangers

17 Apr

So today was my 11 mile run. I ate a really good breakfast (oatmeal, yogurt smoothies packed with fruit) and packed some trail mix (peanuts, dried cherries and yogurt covered raisins) and set out with a great attitude ready to rock the run.

Well, the best laid plans of mice and men don’t always work out. Today was one of the worst runs I’ve ever had. I started struggling early on, at mile 3. No idea what happened, but this was not the day. My last three miles consisted of six half-mile loops. I was miserable. My feet hurt really badly as did my legs, hips and everything else. I was questioning signing up for the race and just hated life.

A woman passed me when i was around mile 8.5 and told me to “keep it up.” I smiled and told her that I was dying and thanked her for the encouragement. I passed her again a out a mile later and she gave me a high five. The last mile was the most painful in my life, but her simple kindness is what got me through. I love that about runners–we all help and encourage each other.

And sometimes when you’re hanging on by thread, that simple kindness makes all the difference.

2 Responses to “The Kindness of Strangers”

  1. Hannah April 19, 2011 at 2:44 AM #

    Gosh, that’s so awesome that you kept going! I don’t think I’d ever run a marathon, but I REALLY admire your gumption! It’s so nice to hear about someone being friendly too. It’s easy to get caught up in being grumpy (which is where I was before I read this :P)

  2. Noel D. April 19, 2011 at 6:33 AM #

    Thanks! I really question my sanity in taking this on sometimes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

