Ninja Nibbles: Quick Tips

26 Apr

So there are a few things lately that I’ve been obsessed with in terms of my workouts and diet that I thought I’d share. I ate my bodyweight in chocolate eggs and bunnies on Easter, but I’m back on the straight and narrow now. 🙂 As I make little discoveries about good, new snacks or a great workout song or a new tip, I plan to share them!

• Workout songs: “I Don’t Feel Like Dancing” by Scissor Sisters and “Dog Days Are Over” by Florence and the Machine
Those songs seriously get me pumped and make me take off running like no other. Great, great stuff!

• Snacks: Yogurt covered raisins, Craisins Cherries
They both have a lot of sugar in them, but they are great for a pre-workout snack for a quick burst of energy or to use while on a long run for refueling. They do have fiber and other good nutrition in them, so it’s a good snack. I mix them with unsalted peanuts to get in a bit of protein for my long runs.

• Breakfast Booster: Greek Yogurt Smoothie
Mix: non-fat milk, Greek Yogurt, strawberries, blueberries and blackberries with a dash of Agave Nectar (for sweetening) and blend. This makes a great smoothie filled with tons of protein, fiber and vitamins to get you going in the day. I drink one for breakfast every morning in addition to eating a slice of toast with peanut butter on it. This combination keeps me full a really long time

Leave a Reply

