Half-Way There

1 May

Today I ran my first half marathon. It was unofficial and a training run for my full, but I clocked in 13.1 miles in 3 hours. It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do, and I quit mentally a million times today. It was about 35 degrees and snowing on and off, so that didn’t add to the fun.

The last several miles, I was in real pain. Everything from the waist down hurt–hips, legs, feet. I wanted to die. I’m amazed at where the energy comes from on these long runs. I keep going because my schedule says I have to do 13 miles, but beyond that I don’t know where it comes from. And I often question why I put myself through all this misery just because a piece of paper tells me to. It’s not like anyone is going to scold me for not listening to a paper. But I couldn’t let myself down, and that was enough to keep me going.

The human spirit is an amazing thing, when there’s nothing left to help me go those additional miles, somewhere inside I find the energy. I felt like I was in a coma, and didnt even know where I was half the time I was so out of it. But I was able to dig deeper than ever before to complete my mileage.

We are all capable of far more than we think is ever possible. Any obstacle is surmountable if the will is there. Whether it’s losing weight or running a marathon or just trying something new you’re afraid of, you CAN do it. Take the plunge and face the fear, your spirit will persevere and carry you through.

Right now I’m in severe pain, but it was worth it for such a feeling of accomplishment. The soreness will pass, but the accomplishment is mine forever.

“There are days when you think you can’t run a marathon. There will be a lifetime knowing you have.”–Unknown

6 Responses to “Half-Way There”

  1. ExperimentalMom May 2, 2011 at 12:15 AM #

    Congrats on finishing 13.1!

    • Noel D. May 2, 2011 at 7:20 PM #

      Thank you!!! Thanks for reading.

  2. Hannah May 2, 2011 at 4:29 AM #

    Good Job! What an accomplishment.

  3. laurapayette May 2, 2011 at 8:56 PM #

    Fantastic accomplishment! Running long distance is not for the faint of heart. It takes sheer resolve to keep going sometimes.

    • Noel D. May 9, 2011 at 5:17 PM #

      Thanks. This week I didn’t have enough, conked out at 9 miles instead of 15. 😦

Leave a Reply

