The Long Struggle

7 May

Today I was supposed to do 15 miles, but a cluster of unfortunate events came together and I ended up only doing 8.87 miles. I ran on a new trail, which ended up being an uneven, dirt/gravel, mountain trail. Turns out given the problems with my foot and balance, I can only run on paved road. Then it was 80 degrees which didn’t help. And finally my tummy wasn’t in a good mood which I think was a result of the Power Bar I ate.

I’m not trying to make excuses as I’ve had bad days before and I’ve pushed through. Today, I couldn’t. We all get off days, and it’s to be expected. I just feel really down and disappointed in myself that I didn’t push through.

I did, however, make an interesting discovery this week which I think will help my running in the future. I’ve been on a beta blocker for nearly two years in order to prevent migraines. It’s helped my headaches tremendously, but it turns out is a horrible hindrance to my running. I have no idea why I never thought of it before, but I talked to my coach this week and found out how detrimental beta blockers are to physical activity.

I’m meeting my doctor on Monday to discuss how to gradually get off of them and hopefully find an alternative medication for my migraines. I am confident I will be a better runner once these beta blockers are out of my system. So even though today was a struggle, I’m looking forward to having more energy in the future.

2 Responses to “The Long Struggle”

  1. Hannah May 9, 2011 at 9:31 AM #

    I’m very glad I just had the one migraine (so far, fingers crossed!). I have heard about some supplements that help, you can read about them here:
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2010/aug/17/migraine-alternative-solution-painkillers

    I don’t know if they work but it might be somewhere to start for you!

    • Noel D. May 9, 2011 at 5:21 PM #

      Thanks for the link. We shall see how it goes. I hope it improves my running, then at least if I get pain, it’s not for nothing.

Leave a Reply

