3 Seconds of Glory

26 May

My finishing time for my first half marathon was 2:57:03. I tell everyone that those final three seconds was my crossing the finish line. In reality, it probably took half that amount to cross the finish, but I like to stretch it out. After all, you kill yourself for 13.1 miles just to get to it, better make it last.

There was a recent article in Runner’s World asking if runners like pain. I don’t think we like pain at all. I think we see it as something that makes us stronger, and it’s a means to an end. We have to experience pain to get the three seconds of glory–crossing the finish line. My final miles were horrifically painful. My IT band, foot and adductor muscles were on fire practically they hurt so badly. Yet, I had to keep pushing through. It wasn’t because I liked the pain, it was that I loved the three seconds.

Crossing that finish line was one of the most exhilarating moments I’ve had in life, and I’ve had a really great life. I was on such an incredible high, something I had never quite experienced. There was a rush of such pure joy with truly happy tears, it was unlike anything else. I suppose it’s the same type of high other adrenaline junkies experience when they skydive or bungee jump.

When I was done with the race, I was miserably sore and began to wonder how in the world am I going to do twice this distance for my full marathon in October? I can’t even fathom it right now, but I know I’ll get there one mile at a time like I did for the half.

Training for the full is a long, tedious, exhausting process, but what keeps me going is the promise of the three seconds of glory at the end. I want to keep chasing that high no matter what the pain is. It may only be 3 seconds out of a 6 hour race, but is worth every painful minute it took to get there.

2 Responses to “3 Seconds of Glory”

  1. Hannah May 29, 2011 at 10:50 PM #

    I think you have a good point. The three seconds at the end didn’t really thrill me so much so I quit running, even though it was painful all throughout. I never missed the pain 🙂

    • Noel D. May 30, 2011 at 7:07 AM #

      Yeah I wish I could figure out a way to run without pain. LOL LOL But then I guess finishing wouldn’t be nearly as satisfying.

Leave a Reply

