Recipe: Easy Veggies

9 Jun

It’s only in recent years that I’ve started eating veggies. I was always a picky eater, and I really hated the healthiest vegetables. I would only eat starches like corn. Now I’ve discovered I actually like a lot of veggies, but I’m picky on how they are served. I seem to only like them raw or grilled. Grilled cooks them and gives some good flavor, but maintains the “crunch factor.” I hate smooshed veggies that don’t crunch. Now that the summer weather has hit, I am using my grill constantly, and I really enjoy making grilled veggies every night. They taste great and fill me up so I don’t binge on unhealthy foods. Plus they “go” with nearly anything else I make on the grill.

Get a grill basket so your veggies don’t fall through the grill grate. I got mine at Target for $7, and it works fabulously. Spray your veggies with cooking spray. This gives them a butter flavor without all the calories. Sprinkle with garlic powder and shake within the basket to get everything evenly coated. Put the basket on the grill and cook for 3 – 5 minutes, occasionally tossing the basket for even cooking.

I like to grill red, green and orange peppers with onions and mushrooms. Bell peppers are full of wonderful vitamins and nutrients that prevent cancer, help your cardiovascular system and are a great source of fiber. Mushrooms also have a ton of vitamins that prevent cancers, especially hormone dependent breast cancer in women and help keep your ticker going.

So load up on your favorite veggies and get the grill fired up for a great side dish to any meal.

Leave a Reply

