Back in the USA

29 Jun

Dear Readers,
My apologies for my lengthy absence, but I was on a much needed vacation abroad. I went on a gorgeous cruise throughout the Mediterranean where I was lucky enough to visit Italy, Greece, Turkey, Israel and Cyprus. I am now back in the good old USA and ready to get back on track.

I did work out every other day on the cruise except the last day, but I kept my workouts light and short. I was getting burned out on running and training and needed a rest. I’ve probably lost a bit of ground, but it’s nothing I can’t get back in a few weeks and it was worth it. I ran only 2 -3 miles in a shot and did some weights, but that was about it.

It felt really good to take some time off. I used to feel guilty about it, but I truly enjoyed going light for a few weeks and finding my passion for running again. I went to Greece, the land that invented the marathon. I felt inspired by the rich history, and I’m ready and recharged to conquer this race.

Unfortunately my new found energy will have to take a few more days of rest as I’ve come home with an extremely hideous head cold compliments of the airplane ride home. So I’ll get well and go out running with a vang.

The point is, if you’re a regular workout fiend, it’s okay to take a break once in a while. Don’t stop completely as it’s too hard to regain that lost ground, but go light and stretch out your schedule a little bit. After all, everyone deserves a vacation.

Leave a Reply

