The Long Road Back

4 Jul

I took my vacation and loved every minute of it. I have no regrets. I ate what I wanted, and I did work out, though not nearly to the level that I’m used to. I considered it a good compromise between letting everything go to hell for two weeks and giving myself a much needed break. Unfortunately, one has to pay for their playing.

I gained 5 pounds from my hopeless addiction to gelato. It’s upsetting, but at the same time, I’m stopping it now before it gets worse, and I know what I need to do to get it off. Am I bummed? Yes, definitely. I’ve never gained weight on vacation before since I usually am so active, but this time I did. But, I don’t regret it. I had fun and really savored all the wonderful foods I had the opportunity to enjoy.

So this week has begun the long road back. I went grocery shopping on Tuesday morning and stocked up on fruits and veggies, chicken and 93% lean ground beef. I bypassed the bakery and the potato chips. I was sick most of the week with a hideously bad cold, but I was finally able to go for a run today. It was my first run in over a week and my first run since returning to high altitude after nearly 3 weeks at sea level. I decided to go to a certain landmark on my running route and turn around. I thought it was around 3.5 miles. I actually ended up doing 5.10 miles in 1:19:23. A very slow time, even for me, but a great first run back especially since I’m still coughing a lot.

I’ve lost 65 pounds, so losing 5 isn’t that daunting, but nevertheless it’s going to take a month or two I think. I tend to lose very slowly. Also, it’s just 3 months until my marathon, so time to crack down my on training schedule and bring ‘er home so to speak. I know I can do it. I just went to Greece, the land where the marathon was invented. If people can run marathons in that country where the heat is extremely oppressive nearly year round, then I can conquer Denver in October.

We all have slip ups and make mistakes, but the important thing is to catch them early and start fixing the problem right away.

One Response to “The Long Road Back”

  1. thegeeman July 4, 2011 at 2:43 PM #

    keep up the good work. nch by inch it is a sinch.

Leave a Reply

