The Quest For the Marathon

19 Jul

A lot of people ask me why I’m running a marathon. Most of them think I’m crazy and wonder why in the world I’d willingly subject my body to such pain. It began as a quest to prove my doctor wrong. He said I’d never run again, and it wasn’t good enough to prove him wrong with a simple 5K or even the challenging half marathon. I had to go all the way. Lately, I’ve been feeling really discouraged about it and disappointed with my abilities. I’m very slow, and it’s been a constant struggle to stay motivated, improve my time, and dedicate the time I need to run it. Just two weeks ago I felt like quitting.

Then I decided that I’m not a quitter, and I was going to do this thing. It wasn’t even so much about proving my doctor wrong, though that is still one of my top motivators. I think I need this 26.2 miles to heal from the whole ordeal of the accident. I haven’t fully let go of everything I went through, which really isn’t a bad thing in that it’s kept me motivated to keep my weight down and keep trying new fitness goals. But I think in order to bring closure to this, I need to complete the marathon. That will be my way of closing the door and moving on to new challenges.

I got up at 5:30 in the morning this past Saturday to do my 8 mile run. The heat has been wicked here, so I was forced to give up sleeping in on Saturday to try to beat the rising thermometer. It was one of the best runs I’ve ever done. I had an intense runner’s high, and felt so absolutely joyous to be running. I remembered what I loved about it, and was so glad those feelings were renewed. I’ve been really fried with it lately because of all the training, and this one run recharged me to a new level of love for running.

I visualized myself crossing the finish line, and got tears in my eyes. It was like suddenly I knew I could do it. Granted my run was only 8 miles and the race is 26.2, but I had confidence and knew I could do it. I may come in dead last for the 6 hour time limit, but I will finish a marathon. I will be able to heal from the accident and everything that went with it. I will be able to have this amazing accomplishment that very few ever get.

26.2 miles of running? BRING IT!

4 Responses to “The Quest For the Marathon”

  1. sia July 19, 2011 at 6:36 AM #

    Please please please don’t quit! Your posts inspire me beyond words. I can’t tell you how many times I have started over with my training. I have completed 2 miles in the last (2) weeks, even though I have completed a half (3) years ago. I turn (50) next year and wanted to end the forties with a half, and ‘run’ into the next phase of life. Days when I don’t want to walk(not running again yet), your post comes through and I plug along. You inspire! Don’t quit!

  2. Noel D. July 19, 2011 at 6:58 PM #

    Thank you so much for your kind words. I am not quitting. 🙂 I just felt like it for a while, but after my last 8-mile run, I feel so much better and more confident. Found my love of running again.

    You will finish your marathon too. Keep at it and you will cross the finish line. 🙂

  3. Hannah July 21, 2011 at 3:00 AM #

    I think it’s an awesome personal journey to complete something (anything really!) that’s a struggle. Going through the times of just wanting to give up but finding some kind of motivation to just keep on going probably helps you out in other aspects of your life too! I am really looking forward to hearing about the day you cross the finish line!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Social run – full of good tips « Every Run's a Winner - July 20, 2011

    […] The Quest For the Marathon (skinnypinkninja.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

