Ninja Niblets: July 21, 2011

21 Jul

Just a few quick niblets to inform and assist…

Workout Songs
“I Wanna Go” by Britney Spears
“How You Like Me Now?” by The Heavy
These two songs are really getting me pumped when I run. I go faster and feel great when they come on. It’s important to change up your music to keep getting that rush that pushes you harder. Both are available on iTunes.

Disturbing Tidbit
So my favorite dessert at The Cheesecake Factory is the Red Velvet Cake Cheesecake. I eat there about 3 times a year, and every time I go, I order that plate of heaven. I’ve always thought it was around 700 – 800 calories for a slice, which is pretty bad. Unfortunately, I found out yesterday in an article on ABC News that it is in fact 1560 calories for one slice with 59 grams of fat. Seriously. One slice. I am so deeply disturbed by this calorie catastrophe, I think the dessert is forever ruined for me.

The article went on to rank the top 8 highest calorie foods in restaurants right now. Read it and weep, my friends.
Top 8 Highest Calorie Foods in Restaurants

Newest Recovery Drink
Run for the Gatorade after a hard workout? Try some chocolate milk instead. This tasty kid’s treat is actually the hottest new recovery drink.

Check it out…
CBS News: Chocolate Milk As a Recovery Drink

4 Responses to “Ninja Niblets: July 21, 2011”

  1. Mrs. K July 23, 2011 at 2:44 PM #

    Hi, Noel,
    Now just remember, you don’t eat this on a regular basis, only for special occasions, so if you eat part of it at the restaurant and take the rest home and eat it gradually, then you can spread those calories over a week. (Notice the run-on sentence? I guess Mrs. Thomas is spinning on that one!) Indulgence every once in awhile is good for the soul! Now for a couple of those yummy cake balls!!!
    Mrs. K. 🙂

    • Noel D. July 25, 2011 at 6:03 AM #

      Thanks! 🙂 🙂 Yeah indulgence once in a while is definitely okay for sure. I was just seriously in shock at how many calories were in ONE piece. Send some cake balls my way please! 🙂

      • Hannah July 25, 2011 at 6:19 AM #

        I don’t really understand how they fit that many calories into one piece. Does this mean my home-made red velvet cake is also extremely high in calories?

  2. Noel D. July 25, 2011 at 6:23 AM #

    I’m guessing not at all. My mom makes one too, and I know what goes in it. It’s not exactly the healthiest thing in the world, but it’s not 1500 calories. I was trying to figure out what they use at Cheesecake FActory too! Probably pure lard and obscene amounts of butter.

Leave a Reply

