A Very Good Run

1 Aug

My Saturday runs used to start around 8:00 or 8:30 in the morning, sometimes even as late as 9:00. However, with the scorching summer heat, I’ve had to start them around 5:45 – 6:00am, which is not pleasant. I’m not a super late sleeper, but getting up at 5:00am on a Saturday is just too early. Unfortunately, it’s a necessary evil during these summer months.

I ran 13 miles this past Saturday morning in 3:05:18. For me and given the heat kicking in the last 2.5 miles, it was a very good running time. But, more importantly, I felt really good on the run. I had a nice runner’s high going for the first half of the run or so, and now that I do foam rolling self-massage, my IT band and knee didn’t act up. I felt confident and happy during my run. I remembered why I loved running in the first place and chose to take on this 26.2 mile monster.

I haven’t had a lot on my mind lately to stress about thankfully, but my run really cleared my head and set the tone for a very good day. It’s amazing how a run will do that. Even though it was tiring and I was exhausted from getting up so early, the good feeling and sense of accomplishment I had the rest of the day was worth the early morning wake-up call. It felt fabulous! A little bunny rabbit joined me for a few miles on and off. He would run in the forest along side me and pop out every so often. It was adorable!

It was during this run that it dawned on me that I will, in fact, finish this marathon. I may not be the fastest runner out there, but I know I will finish the race now. I have it in me to do this and nothing will stop me. It will be one of the greatest physical accomplishments of my life, and it will happen. No doubts or worries anymore. I will cross the finish line!

4 Responses to “A Very Good Run”

  1. Hannah August 1, 2011 at 7:36 AM #

    This post makes me want to go out for a run!

  2. Noel D. August 1, 2011 at 6:30 PM #

    Go for it. It’ll feel wonderful!! I bet you’re not having a huge heat wave in Sweden, you don’t have to go at 5:00am! 🙂

  3. Ann August 3, 2011 at 6:10 AM #

    I had to come visit your blog when I saw your name. SkinnyPinkNinja. How awesome is that? But yes, you can do it. Marathoning is so much more mental than anybody ever tells you. Good luck and keep having fun.

    • Noel D. August 3, 2011 at 6:32 AM #

      Thanks Ann! 🙂 I think I’ve reached the point now where I know I can do the race. The doubt is lessening. Not to say I won’t be afraid/nervous on race day, but I think it’s going to be okay. 🙂

Leave a Reply

