The Greatest Run

22 Sep

Last week, I had friends in from out of town for my 30th birthday. I was really busy taking them around and playing hostess as well as partying it up for the big milestone birthday. As a result, I didn’t get a run in for 4 days.

I didn’t think it’d be a big deal. I was happy to have my friends in town and getting a chance to lay around and relax was really nice, as it’s something I almost never do. But, the withdrawal started to build. I felt more and more out of it and antsy as the days wore on. I wanted to run so badly. I couldn’t believe it.

After all these months of running several times a week every week with each distance getting longer and harder, I thought I’d be thrilled to have a block of time off. Instead, I was craving a run like a pregnant woman wants pickles. How could this be? Yes, I’ve enjoyed running and I’m grateful that I can even do it given my medical issues, but to be at the point where I was ready to sell a kidney on eBay just to get a run in?

On Monday, I was able to get back to the gym. Normally, during the week, I do speed interval training on the treadmill and more or less hate it. I much prefer my long, slow runs outside with changing scenery and my own pace. But, since I’m a slow runner, speed training is a necessary evil. However, I was dying for a run so badly on Monday, I whipped through 3.1 miles of speed intervals in 37:37. It was the best feeling in the world. I felt like I had won the lottery, I was on such a high.

As my feet pounded out the miles, I felt better and better. I felt like I could have run the entire marathon at that moment. There was such an intense runner’s high and feeling of satisfaction. The fatigue and restlessness was gone, I was doing something I loved again. And I finally remembered why I do love it. That feeling has gotten lost on several occasions throughout my training since it’s been so stressful and trying at times. But it was back.

I now feel confident that everything is going to be okay with the marathon. I will finish it, and most importantly, I will run it with joy.

Leave a Reply

