Marathon Week: I Would Walk 500 Miles For You

3 Oct

I started off a 205 lb person on crutches with a bad foot. I finished nearly 500 miles later to become a marathoner.

Well, the week has finally arrived. I am seven days away from becoming a marathoner for the first time. I have trained long and hard for a total of 10 months in the freezing cold and blazing heat. My doctor said I would never be a runner, and since August 2, 2010, my crippled foot has clocked in nearly 500 miles of running. I have run a total of 464.78 miles since last August and 322.26 miles since January 1, when I started training. That’s a whole lot of “never going to be a runner” miles. πŸ™‚

Since last week, I have had great apprehension as the date draws near, but I have to admit that today, I am feeling eerily calm given my high-strung, high-stress personality. I have done all that I can to train for this thing. I have devoted nearly every single Saturday for 10 months to running long distances not to mention the weight and speed training I do during the week. There’s nothing more I can do.

I’ve read stories about people who try to wing a marathon after only training for 1 – 3 months. Their experience is awful and not pretty, but the outcome was always the same: they finished. Maybe by the skin of their teeth and without a few toenails, but they always finished. I have to focus on that when I start to get discouraged. If someone can finish after barely doing anything, then I can finish after devoting 10 months to training.

I am going to tape a picture of my former overweight, crippled self underneath the brim of my hat. When I get discouraged and terrified during the race, I’ll pull off my hat and look at the picture. Realizing how incredibly far I’ve come, I’ll have the energy and motivation to keep going through the pain and misery.

Okay, marathon, I am ready. Bring it!

2 Responses to “Marathon Week: I Would Walk 500 Miles For You”

  1. runningthriver October 3, 2011 at 7:45 AM #

    YOU ARE AWESOME!!!!!

    • Noel D. October 4, 2011 at 5:49 AM #

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’m getting excited!

Leave a Reply

