How the Marathon Changed My Life

12 Oct

This past week, I watched the documentary “Spirit of the Marathon” for the third time to get inspired for my race. I also watched “Marathon Challenge.” Both films carried the same message: the marathon will change your life. I figured the race would. I mean after all, I trained for 10 months and it had taken such a huge part of my life to get to race day. But I really didn’t realize how much it would change my life and how quickly.

I learned so much about myself on race day, things I always thought were there, but was never quite sure. I have always known that I’m very stubborn, and I will push through things if I set my mind to it. However, like anyone, I do have a breaking point. I wasn’t sure where that point was until race day. I came so close to giving in at mile 14 when my foot got so bad, but then I pushed through until the finish. That is when I realized how truly strong I am. If I could push through excruciating pain to finish a 26.2 mile race, well I could do anything.

I had no idea on the day of the race that I was going to need that new found confidence and grit so soon. Yesterday, I found out about some very major changes at my job. My two-person art department is shrinking to just me as we are transitioning some staff. I think before the marathon, I would have been freaking out about taking on two full time jobs until new staff is put into place. It’s a lot of new and foreign responsibilities that are coming my way. Given my high-strung, high-anxiety personality, I know that I would have been downing Maalox for an upset stomach last night scared to death about what would come.

But, now knowing that I’ve run a marathon, which is physically one of the hardest challenges on the planet, I know I can do anything. Sure, the changes are going to be difficult and time-consuming, but I absolutely know it’s not only something I can handle, but excel at as well. Running for 6 straight hours is far worse than learning some new skills at the office.

The marathon did change my life. It gave me a confidence and strength I wasn’t sure I had. It gave me reassurance in myself and in my abilities. It may have been one six-hour day, but the benefits will last a lifetime.

6 Responses to “How the Marathon Changed My Life”

  1. Bob dolan October 12, 2011 at 7:08 AM #

    Fabulous outlook on life…keep growing.

  2. runningthriver October 12, 2011 at 7:27 AM #

    What a coincidence! I have also been watching “Spirit of the Marathon” for the exact same reason! lol Apparently great minds think alike. 😉 I have not heard of the other film, but will definitely look for it. Good luck in your new job role. I’m sure you’ll so great!

    • runningthriver October 12, 2011 at 9:13 AM #

      PS- you are so AWESOME, I had to give you another shout out today on my list of inspiring women. I borrowed one of your photos- I hope you don’t mind!

      • Noel D. October 13, 2011 at 5:57 AM #

        Wow thanks! I don’t mind at all. I will respond to that award thing and list out people soon, I’ve just been working tons of overtime and busy at the office. Check out “Marathon challenge.” It’s a disc only rental from Netflix. I’m going to review it on here soon.

  3. Lori, becoming Lori October 12, 2011 at 9:15 AM #

    I think it’s one of those rites of passage that — once you’ve passed that particular life “gate” (or in this case a finish line) — there is no possibility of ever going back to being the person that you were before. The “if I can do THIS, then I can do THAT” logic is very powerful. Congratulations on pushing through to your goal, and yes, I’m confident that you will do great at whatever challenges life hands you next.

    • Noel D. October 13, 2011 at 5:58 AM #

      Thank you so much! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

