Healthy Recipe: Cheeseburger Pie

25 Oct

I downloaded the SparkPeople app for my iPad to get some new, healthy recipe ideas this past weekend. Last night was a first attempt at their low cal cheeseburger pie. I made some modifications to it, but overall I think it was a decent dish and definitely good on the calorie count.

Spark People: Healthy Cheeseburger Pie

I used 93% lean ground beef instead of ground turkey, because I think ground turkey is gross. I also used 1% cottage cheese instead of non-fat, because again I think non-fat things are disgusting. I added garlic powder, onion powder and 2 TBS of ketchup for flavoring. I think it definitely made a difference for the better. Next time, I might even through in a tablespoon or two of mustard for more a cheeseburger feel.

Overall, it was a good and easy recipe for a quick weeknight meal. The best part is that it’s only 163 calories a serving (mine was probably closer to 200 since I used beef and 1% cottage cheese, but either way not bad).

Leave a Reply

