Happy Anniversary: 4 Yrs & 504 Miles

16 Nov

Four years ago today I had foot surgery. I had been in a car accident the previous year, but it took that long to figure out what was wrong. The arch in my right foot had collapsed, and I had reconstructive surgery to rebuild it with bone grafts. It was an extremely painful recovery that took nearly 2 years.

My doctor said after the surgery I’d never run again. I celebrated my anniversary of my surgery today with a run. I celebrated it a marathoner. I celebrated the fact that one difficult event in my life brought forth the most positive change I could have ever imagined.

It was awful going through the car accident, the surgery and the recovery process. I was in constant pain for nearly 3 years at the young age of 25. But I am so grateful because it motivated me to change my life. I lost 65 pounds, and I’ve kept it off almost 3 years. I became a runner and finished a full marathon when I was told I never would. I helped friends and coworkers lose weight and run their first 5K.

The accident was definitely one of the best things that happened to me. I learned that I could overcome anything as long as I put my mind to it. I learned to test my strength and limits and keep reaching higher.

I used to be embarrassed by the six inch scar on my foot. It was ugly and looked terrible when I wore sandals. Now I look down at it with pride. It’s a symbol of what I’ve overcome and how strong I am.

You can overcome anything and reach any dream. Don’t let an injury or self-doubt stop you. We all have a fire inside waiting to be let out and conquer the world. Let it out and start conquering your dreams!

Leave a Reply

