Does Size Matter?

30 Nov

ABC News: Plates Size & Color Determine Your Portions

For years diet and nutrition experts have been saying if you want to lose weight, use a smaller plate as a way to control portions. It makes sense. Your plate holds less, therefore you eat less, but you think you’re eating more because the plate looks fuller. However, now a new study is showing that the color of the plate and the table matters too. The more contrast there is between your food and your plate, the fuller you think it is.

If you’re eating spaghetti with red sauce on a red plate, your dinner tends to blend in and you may in fact eat more. My plates are white, so everything contrasts vividly against that. Does it make me eat any more or less? Not really, but I tend to measure my food out before hand anyhow.

According to another article I read, American dinner plates are 11″ in diameter and European plates are 9.” It has also been shown that our dinner plates now are much larger than the dinner plates in the 1950s. For Thanksgiving we ate on my grandmother’s china. It’s not super old, but her dinner plates are definitely smaller than mine by quite a large margin. As I made my way down the serving counter, I did run out of room about 3/4 of the way through. I finished my first round of food and went back for seconds, but really ended up getting firsts on the things I couldn’t fit on the first round. So instead of eating two of everything, I ate two of a few things, but mostly one of everything else. So did the plate size really make a difference?

Maybe I should experiment and eat my dinner all week on a salad plate and see if it makes a difference. Like I said, I’m not sure I’m the best test subject since I tend to pre-portion out my food anyway, but it would be interesting to see if it made a difference.

4 Responses to “Does Size Matter?”

  1. Hannah November 30, 2011 at 8:05 AM #

    I think I definitely fill up a plate if I’m hungry, especially if I’m eating at someone else’s home or eating out…and then I feel obliged to eat everything on my plate since I’m the one who meted out such a huge portion! So for me, using smaller plates on these occasions would probably prevent overeating.

  2. sweetopiagirl November 30, 2011 at 8:48 AM #

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

  3. Laura November 30, 2011 at 11:43 AM #

    I haven’t changed my plates, but I have focused on taking less. When I would take 2 scoops, I would instead take 1.5 scoops. This has really helped me, but of course it takes a conscious decision and willpower. May eventually have to make a plate switch.

  4. Noel D. December 1, 2011 at 6:15 AM #

    Yeah I measure my food typically so I do take less. But I think the smaller plate idea is good when willpower to take less fails. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

