Workout Playlist: Don’t Wait Until January to Start!

20 Dec

The new year is just a few weeks away and soon the gyms will be crowded and overpacked with people who’ve made a New Year’s resolution to lose weight. Instead of letting the weight build up another few weeks, get a head start and start exercising now. Even if you don’t curb your eating just yet, starting to get in the habit of exercising regularly will help you keep with it long past the first 3 weeks in January, which is the usual drop off point.

Here are songs from my essential workout playlist to get you started!

  • Super Bass by Nicki Minaj
  • Good Feeling by Flo Rida
  • Bulletproof by LaRoux
  • Party Rock Anthem by LMFAO
  • Sexy and I Know It by LMFAO
  • Good Life by OneRepublic
  • Video Killed the Radio Star by The Buggles (My friend made fun of me for putting this on my marathon playlist, but at each mile marker of the marathon was a rock band. When I was at mile 18 and really struggling, the band played this song. It totally got me moving and gave me a second wind! The power of the 80s!)
  • Dog Days are Over by Florence + The Machine (Perfect song for ending a long, brutal run)
  • Forget You by Cee Lo Green
  • The Edge of Glory by Lady GaGa
  • Born This Way by Lady GaGa
  • I Don’t Feel Like Dancing by Scissor Sisters
  • I Gotta Feeling by Black Eyed Peas
  • How You Like Me Now by The Heavy
  • Nobody But Me by The Human Beinz (A vintage 60s song, but it was used in an awesome Nike commercial lately. Really gets me pumped up and going!)
  • Beautiful Day by U2
  • I Like How It Feels by Enrique Iglesias
  • I Run For Life by Melissa Etheridge
  • Sing by My Chemical Romance (This song is tremendously special to me. It’s the song I crossed the finish line to at the marathon. It has fantastic lyrics and every time I hear it now, I think of that awesome moment of finishing the race and it brings tears to my eyes.)

If you really want to have a secret shame, I highly recommend an ABBA remix CD by the A*Teens. It’s embarrassing, but it’s all ABBA songs remixed to super fast paced techno music. It is great and will make you fly down the running trail. Just when someone asks what you’re listening to, tell them it’s something hardcore like Metallica!

 

One Response to “Workout Playlist: Don’t Wait Until January to Start!”

  1. music January 4, 2012 at 11:14 PM #

    Today, Elvis Presley turns 75 years old. To me, Elvis’ music doesn’t “mean” a whole lot, it’s just good fun music to listen to, but to my mom and a whole generation of people it has tremendous meaning. So given that we are focused on music, I wanted to take today to reflect on some of the best workout music that Elvis made.

Leave a Reply

