The Greatest Christmas Gift

27 Dec

I sincerely all of you had a wonderful Christmas or Hannukah. I definitely enjoyed this wonderful time of year. Santa was extra good to me, and I had a great day with my family, so no complaints.

I have to say though, looking back on the past few months, that the greatest gift this year was the marathon. I know I posted shortly after the October race that it changed my life, but even at that point, I didn’t know how much it really would change me. Shortly after the race, I had a change at work. My previous supervisor left the company and I was the lone person in the art department. Additionally, several freelance jobs I had taken on were all colliding with the same deadlines instead of being spaced out as originally planned. So basically I went from working around 40 hours a week with free weekends to working 70 hours a week and working all weekend long.

I was thrust into a whirlwind of non-stop work, insane projects and learning a new job on the fly. Not only was I able to do it, but I was thriving. Granted, I was going bonkers outside of work with the pressure and stress, but at the same time, I was able to handle it. I credit all of it to the marathon. It taught me how to manage my time and push past seemingly insurmountable obstacles. If I could run 26.2 miles, I could handle this job.

The marathon also gave me an incredible confidence and strength. After learning the ropes of the job, I was able to feel bold enough to ask my boss for a raise and promotion. I put together a list of my accomplishments in the short amount of time that I had taken over and marched right into his office and fought for my right to get promoted. Never in a million years would I have done that before the race. I was so painfully shy about asking for raises at work or a promotion. I always just worked hard, but kept silent and waited for someone to notice. Not this time. I felt so confident from my achievement and the power it gave me to know I had finished it, I felt free.

I ended up getting the raise and promotion. I also finally finished my freelance projects yesterday and lived to tell the tale. For nearly 3 months, I’ve been working at a break-neck pace, but it all paid off. One of my favorite quotes is from John Bingham: “the miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.” If I had never done the marathon, I would have never had the courage to start this massive undertaking, much less succeed at it.

So this Christmas, I am most grateful for those 26.2 miles of pavement I pounded in October. Every mile added a bit of confidence and strength, until I felt brave enough to take on the world.

One Response to “The Greatest Christmas Gift”

  1. Bob Dolan December 27, 2011 at 7:53 AM #

    What a day and what a woman. I’m proud of what you are doing with your life.

Leave a Reply

