I Know I’m a Runner Because…

10 Jan

Medals

I’ve been a runner for a little over a year now. Up until recently when people asked me if I was a runner, I’d always give a response like “I’m trying to be” or “Sort of.” What a bunch of crap. The moment you start running, you’re a runner. It doesn’t matter if you do one mile or thirty, you are a runner and you’re part of that community. I always said my response because I felt embarrassed that I’m such a slow runner, so then I was like well I’m not really a runner. Well, no more. I’ve done a half marathon, a full marathon, 3 5Ks and run over 550 miles in the past year. I’m definitely a runner and I’m proud of it. Who cares if I’m slow, I’m still a runner like all the other runners out there.

So to celebrate this revelation, let’s go through the many reasons why you and I are runners. This list is compiled from several lists online, but I have hand-chosen the points that most reflect me. Please share your reasons why you’re a runner too!

  • you go into Starbucks more often to use the bathroom than to actually buy coffee.
    In my case, it’s Panera as there are a few along the trail I run on, but hey Starbucks works! 
  • you no longer make fun of fanny packs because your running belt looks very similar (although cooler) to one.
    In addition to being a runner, I’m a huge fashion freak, and I’ve made fun of fanny packs for years. Yes, now I own a hydration belt (not going to call it a fanny  pack no matter how similar they look). So much for my style!!! 
  • you know how to take a cup of water from a water stop without choking on it or spilling it all over yourself.
    I perfected this method by my full marathon, took a while though. 🙂 
  • you know where your illiotibial band is located.
    I hate to say I do know this one. This is what gives me the most grief when I run. Thank goodness for foam rollers. 
  • you no longer hate port-a-johns. In fact, there have been times when you’ve been very happy to see one.
    I think this is the most tragic one. So, so true. 
  • you know where exactly one mile from your front door is (in any direction).
    I also know all the miles on the trail I run and exactly how far each one is by landmarks. Scary! 
  • when you hear PR, you automatically think “personal record”, not “public relations”.
    What, doesn’t everyone think that? 
  • you have several drawers dedicated to running shirts.
    I have a huge dresser drawer with all of my running clothes in it. It is overflowing and really needs to expand to 2 drawers. 
  • you get excited when the new Runner’s World comes in the mail.
    Best. Day. Ever. 
  • your Facebook or Twitter updates frequently involve running.
    Yes, I’d say I post about running usually 2 – 3 times a week
  • you get jealous when you’re driving in your car and pass runners.
    I want to wave to them and say me too, me too, but I figure I’d look weird and they’d arrest me. 🙂 
  • you spent more timing researching a running watch than you did your car.
    Yes, I spent weeks researching which Garmin to get. My car, not so much. 
  • You know the location of every 7-11, public restroom, and water fountain in running distance from your home.
    Doesn’t everyone?! 
  • you wear running T-shirts with funny slogans.
    I heart these shirts! 

Share the reasons you’re a runner and proud of your fanny pack…er…hydration belt!

12 Responses to “I Know I’m a Runner Because…”

  1. bearrunner January 10, 2012 at 8:23 AM #

    Well written, enjoyed the post…

    cheers

    • Noel D. January 16, 2012 at 1:17 PM #

      Thank you and thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. thetortoiseruns January 10, 2012 at 8:39 AM #

    I’d add something in about being able to wear a head lamp without immediately feeling like a coal miner, and being scared to take off your shoes in public in case you traumatize young children haha. Nice post!

    • Noel D. January 16, 2012 at 1:17 PM #

      Those are great! 🙂 I live in Colorado and running at night isn’t wise due to the fact that is when mountain lions and bears come out, so I haven’t had the headlamp experience. 🙂 🙂

  3. Theresa January 10, 2012 at 10:22 AM #

    When you happily pay money to exercise ( race ) 🙂

    • Noel D. January 16, 2012 at 1:17 PM #

      I know right??? LOL

  4. Noel D. January 11, 2012 at 5:56 AM #

    Thanks for reading and contributing more ideas guys! Keep running. 🙂

  5. runningthriver January 11, 2012 at 9:29 AM #

    LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!! You rock girl! Keep it up!

    • Noel D. January 16, 2012 at 1:18 PM #

      Thanks lady, you too! 🙂

  6. neridapunter January 11, 2012 at 6:38 PM #

    Ha, I laughed out loud when I read this. I believe (d) I was a ‘sort of’ runner because I am slow, and I preface every discussion by declaring such! Guess its time to get over myself huh? And be proud of what I can do! Thanks!

    • Noel D. January 16, 2012 at 1:19 PM #

      YES, definitely get over yourself. You are a runner. Be proud of that. You’re not telling people you are a fast runner, you’re telling them you’re a runner. That’s all that matters. Keep it up, keep your head up high, you are a proud runner at your pace! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mile Repeats « The Fitness Aggregate - January 10, 2012

    […] I Know I’m a Runner Because… (skinnypinkninja.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

