The Pursuit of Happiness

7 Feb

The past four months have been a challenge. While some really fabulous things happened—I got promoted, a raise, some great freelance opportunities, it’s been hectic to put it mildly. I was putting in 70 hour work weeks and missed a great deal of my favorite time of year: the holidays. I finally got an assistant at work to help relieve the work load, but I still had a hard time with the work load and feeling the compulsive need to be perfect and get everything done. As a result, both my running and my happiness suffered.

I had several people tell me this past week that I’m different and not as happy go lucky as I used to be. I hated hearing it, but they were right. I was working too much, stressed and not doing the things I loved. I was going to sign up for the local half marathon, but my $450 worth of car bills put a stop to that.

However, I’ve decided this week, that I can still excel at my job without sacrificing excessive amounts of time or my happiness. I’m trying ot make a chart of the things that really matter to me and make me happy. One of the things near the top? Running. I ran yesterday in my gym at the office and it was wonderful. It was only 2 miles plus I did some weight lifting, but it was divine. I was so unbelievably happy when I was finished. I thought to myself, why have I been putting work ahead of this wonderful feeling?

It’s taken me a while to realize it and it was especially hard when I was training for the marathon, but running really makes me happy. I’m never going to be very good at it (i.e. fast), but I love it. It makes me healthier and happier. The flood of endorphins after a great run is like nothing else in the world. It can make the worst day feel spectacular.

So this time, I’m really back on the wagon. I need running for my sanity and happiness and nothing is going to get in the way. I can already feel my old self letting go of the stress and coming back. I missed me!

One Response to “The Pursuit of Happiness”

  1. Hannah February 9, 2012 at 5:54 AM #

    I love the idea of charting what really makes you happy! I’ve always wanted to use Daytum but never really had a good idea for it…this one is getting my cogs turning…

Leave a Reply

