Product Review: Garmin Forerunner 310XT

9 May

All this time, I’ve been clocking my runs using an app on my iPhone that works with the iPhone’s GPS system. RunKeeper is a fantastic app, but, unfortunately, it sucks the battery life of the iPhone. The battery normally lasts about 10 hours, but would last only 2 while using it. So I dug into the couch for some extra change and decided to get a GPS running watch.

I first started with a Polar RS300x. Could be the worst thing ever created by mankind. It was not cheap at $250, but it didn’t work. I tried to set basic intervals on it for my 4 min run / 1 min walk, and it would only occasionally beep. It lost the GPS signal all the time even though I was in an open park in downtown Colorado Springs, and the beep was so quiet I literally could not listen to my headphones at all.

So I returned it and decided to shell out the big bucks for a Garmin. I was given the Garmin Forerunner 310XT, and took it for my first test run this past weekend. What an amazing product! It not only beeps loudly but it vibrates at every interval so I can have my headphones on nice and loud and still know when to take my walk break. It never lost the signal and I was way back in the woods in the middle of nowhere. Plus, the user interface is extremely easy and simple to use. I never had to consult the manual whereas with the Polar watch, I read the manual 4 times and still didn’t understand it.

What’s even more awesome about the Garmin is you can plug in a USB drive to your computer that talks to the watch and downloads all the information. You get free software to keep track of all of your workouts online. It provides super accurate information about speed, pace, heart rate, elevation, distance and calories burned.

So, if you’re serious about running and are getting into very long distances, I highly recommend the Garmin Forerunner 310XT. It is worth the money and investment in your sport and will not disappoint you.

7 Responses to “Product Review: Garmin Forerunner 310XT”

  1. Rew May 9, 2011 at 7:57 AM #

    Nice review. I bought one, which arrived today, just as you, I got fed up with iPhone/RunKeeper.

    • Noel D. May 9, 2011 at 5:18 PM #

      RunKeeper is great for small distances, but it won’t hold up for long distance that’s for sure. Glad you like your Garmin!

  2. Hannah May 9, 2011 at 9:20 AM #

    Sounds pretty awesome even though I don’t really run anymore. I have heard the cheap GPS are not worth it at all. Very cool that they let you return the inferior product.

    • Noel D. May 9, 2011 at 5:19 PM #

      I was only able to return it for store credit, but it worked out since they had the Garmin.

  3. garmin 620 review June 20, 2014 at 3:33 PM #

    Hi colleagues, how is everything, and what you wish
    for to say about this post, in my view its genuinely amazing designed for me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Waypoints — May 14th, 2011 : GPS Enviro Rides - May 15, 2011

    […] Forerunner 310XT – The Skinny Pink Ninja reviews this triathlete’s […]

  2. SportTracks v2 (Sport Tracks Software) Download Enjoy « The 5k Runner - May 24, 2011

    […] Product Review: Garmin Forerunner 310XT (skinnypinkninja.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment