T-3 Days Until NYC Marathon

4 Nov

This upcoming Sunday, the first Sunday in November, is the annual New York City Marathon. It is the world’s largest marathon having nearly 44,000 participants in last year’s race. It was begun in 1970 by Fred Lebow and has evolved into a huge spectator sport and a source of enormous pride for New Yorkers.

I recently finished a book about this epic event called “A Race Like No Other” by Liz Robbins. It was a mile by mile account of a group of different runners’ experiences with this race. She covered regular people and the elite who win this race. It was one of the most inspiring books I’ve read, and I’m now committed that one day I will run the NYC Marathon.

From what I’ve read in Robbins’ book as well as other marathon books, it sounds like one of the most special, unique experiences a person can go through. You wreak total havoc on your body and somehow by the time you cross the finish line, you are ready to do it again. It takes immense courage, dedication, motivation and time to prepare for this event. Most marathon training schedules are a minimum of 6 months long.

The Wall is usually hit around mile 20 and the last 6 miles are pure agony for most runners, but something switches in their brain upon crossing the finish line. All the while leading up to it, you may be miserable and swearing you’ll never do it again, but once you cross the line, you’re ready for the next one.

The NYC Marathon contains amazing stories from people who run it who are battling cancer, addictions, and other health problems to people overcoming injuries, personal tragedies (death, divorce). It is for anyone. There are even special handicapped teams who compete where there are courageous stories of people on crutches walking the entire route in 11 hours. It is truly an amazing, one-of-a-kind event.

I am starting marathon training in January. I hope to run the Denver Rock & Roll Marathon on October 16, 2011. It will be my first marathon. I’m hoping to just complete it in the required 6 hours. But if I make it through, I am going to shoot for the NYC Marathon.

NBC is broadcasting 2 hours worth of NYC Marathon highlights on Sunday. Be sure to tune in or tape it on your DVR. If you have NBC Universal Sports, the entire race is being broadcast.

65 Responses to “T-3 Days Until NYC Marathon”

  1. runtobefit November 5, 2010 at 9:00 AM #

    I definitely want to run the NYC Marathon. Right now I am training for the Rock n Roll 1/2 Marathon in San Antonio. I would suggest starting with a 1/2 marathon to get used to the experience if you have not run a marathon. It will help you gain confidence. You can check out my blog and some of my experiences so far training for my first 1/2 marathon.

    http://www.runtobefit.wordpress.com

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:55 AM #

      Yeah I definitely plan to run a half before the big race. I’m starting marathon training in January for an October race, but there is a half marathon in May that I am shooting for as my first goal. Good luck with your training!

  2. dearexgirlfriend November 5, 2010 at 9:11 AM #

    my buddy is running in NYC this weekend. i havent run 2 miles total since i graduated college. i think its stupid…and yet somehow i am in awe of you runners. best of luck
    http://dearexgirlfriend.com/

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:55 AM #

      Thanks and good luck to your friend. I used to think running was stupid too, especially something as epic as a marathon. And now here I am. You will seriously get sucked in at some point. 🙂 🙂

  3. Mikalee Byerman November 5, 2010 at 9:16 AM #

    Good luck with your training! I, however, will continue my treadmill workout. I usually hit my wall around mile 1.5… 😉

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:56 AM #

      Thank you! Eventually your wall will break and you’ll hit 2.0 miles. 🙂 Keep going!

  4. Amy November 5, 2010 at 5:23 PM #

    I tried the Marine Corps Marathon twice, failing both times (HUGE race…was trampled at the start!) but complete the Outer Banks Marathon last year. I’m signed up to run the OBX again…in TEN days! EEEEK!

    I never believed it before I finished one, but really, the marathon is such a mental struggle. Yes, you still have to do the training and get uncomfortable rashes in places that should never be discussed in mixed company, but once you DECIDE you’re going to finish, you will.

    I have faith in you, chickadee. You can do it!

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:38 PM #

      Thank you! Good luck to you!!!

  5. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife November 5, 2010 at 6:07 PM #

    Good for you! That is a future goal of mine, a marathon of some sort.

  6. enjoibeing November 5, 2010 at 6:42 PM #

    i was always fascinated about marathons and runners. now i gotta read that book that Liz Robbins wrote. Nice read.

    http://enjoibeing.wordpress.com/

  7. Kevin Venerus November 5, 2010 at 7:08 PM #

    Good luck to all the runners!!!

  8. Shelley November 5, 2010 at 7:10 PM #

    Great post. I started running three months ago, and my long term goal is definitely to run a marathon. Just finished reading Dean Karnazes – Ultra Marathon Man – amazing the endurance the human body can have. It makes a ‘normal’ marathon look like a warm up session!

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:39 PM #

      Yeah a guy I work with, his bro, runs ultra marathons. I don’t know how he does it. They are crazy. I’ll check out that book.

  9. transplantednorth November 5, 2010 at 7:26 PM #

    I never ran it, but my dad ran in many New York City Marathons. We lived in Staten Island. We would watch the runners start at the starting line at the Verrazano Bridge, and wait until all the runners left the starting line before we can actually drive our car off the Island.
    Some of my fondest memories of the NYC marathon was helping serve the pre-pasta dinner at Tavern on the Green the night before to thousands of out-of-town runners. It made me proud to be a New Yorker, and I miss the whole weekend now that I live far away from the city.
    Good luck in your training.

  10. Noel D. November 5, 2010 at 7:39 PM #

    Thank you everyone for your awesome comments and encouragement. I can’t wait to respond to each of you individually. Good luck to those of you running!

  11. perfectperfectionist November 5, 2010 at 7:50 PM #

    Marathons totally intimidate me – good luck for it!

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:56 AM #

      Yes I am scared, but if I can overcome the mental part, I know I can do it.

  12. ifUseekAmy November 5, 2010 at 7:56 PM #

    Good luck with Denver!
    I’m volunteering with the Red Cross on Sunday as a medical spotter looking for runners in distress. I’ll be stationed right after mile 17. I am so looking forward to the day.
    I’ve done half marathons and tons of shorter races. I don’t think I will ever do a full marathon, as I am better with shorter distances. But I will continue to *push* myself with halves.
    BEST OF LUCK TO THE RUNNERS ON SUNDAY! I’ll be cheering you on from my station.

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:57 AM #

      That is so neat you’re going to be a part of this event. Awesome! Thanks for the luck for Denver. I am going to need it for sure. Good luck to you with your halves!

  13. Jim Hagen November 5, 2010 at 8:07 PM #

    I’d love to join you but I have to watch some paint dry.

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:58 AM #

      LOL Trust me, there are days when that definitely sounds more appealing.

  14. Evie Garone November 5, 2010 at 8:13 PM #

    God Bless All You Runners! Not for me! I’ll do Yoga!

    evelyngarone.com

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:58 AM #

      LOL and I admire people who can do yoga since I can’t sit still for more than 5 minutes.

  15. Ava Aston's Muckery November 5, 2010 at 10:22 PM #

    Running A Marathon.

    That’s on my bucket list. I think I’ll have to get that book first, sounds like it would be useful.

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:58 AM #

      It’s an awesome book. It is so inspiring, you will cry so many times. But after you read some of these courageous stories, you know for sure you can do the marathon.

  16. gugurbersalju November 5, 2010 at 11:13 PM #

    COOL

    i have stories
    http://diarimusafir.wordpress.com/

  17. Benjamin Franklin November 6, 2010 at 12:40 AM #

    Good luck to all runers…

    http://autospirit.wordpress.com/

  18. allan61 November 6, 2010 at 3:15 AM #

    Love this a lot. I did my first marathon this year at 49 and will be doing as many as I can while I can. My first attempt I hit the wall and never recovered but this year was different. I shall put my hands on the book and read it with great interest. Thank you for more inspiration

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 7:00 AM #

      That is amazing. Good for you and congrats! I can’t wait to start training, though I am scared to death. 🙂 Also check out “First Marathons” by Gail Kislevitz. It’s an inspirational read too.

  19. Be. Image, Fitness, and Lifestyle. November 6, 2010 at 6:18 AM #

    Great positive energy here Skinny Pink! It’s refreshing to see blogs filled with uplifting goals towards health and happiness. Thank you for writing about the NYC marathon and outlining your own personal aims. With this much spirit, you’ll be fine in any marathon! Yay!!!

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 7:01 AM #

      Wow, thank you so much. After struggling for such a long time with weight, I want to help others be as happy and healthy as I am now, which is why I started this blog. I must confess, I am having serious motivation issues this morning to get to the gym, but I do know that I can do the marathon. It’s going to be one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do, but I know I can do it. Thanks for your support!

  20. ABHIMANNUE R November 6, 2010 at 7:59 AM #

    IT IS REALLY AMAZING

  21. rajan November 6, 2010 at 8:06 AM #

    IT IS REALLY AMAZING

  22. rajan November 6, 2010 at 8:09 AM #

    It’s an awesome book. It is so inspiring, you will cry so many times. But after you read some of these courageous stories, you know for sure you can do the marathon.

  23. Michael LaBossiere November 6, 2010 at 9:03 AM #

    Good luck with the training (and staying injury free).

  24. jblack55 November 6, 2010 at 9:09 AM #

    Good luck w/ your training and race. I have alot of respect for anybody who can run a marathon. Skinny Pink Ninja, Awesome name!
    http://consolidatingschool-loans.org/

  25. your personal stalker November 6, 2010 at 10:09 AM #

    I gotten healthier/fit this year and it is my goal to do a 10K, which is in the spring. Before I couldn’t finish one mile and now I can easily finish three with no problem. But the thing is that I think I’m still too fat to run the 10K. I’m 5’7” and weigh 179, what do you guys think?

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:42 PM #

      The participants on the Biggest Loser run a full marathon at the end of each season, with most of them weighing in the 200s, 300s. I think if you can do a 5K, you can do a 10K. Check with your doc, but if you can do 3, there’s no reason you can’t do 6 miles. Try the Galloway method, which is run 4 min, walk 1 min. It really cuts down on your chance of injury and allows you to add miles without a lot of effort. Great way to train for any distance and keeps you safer.

  26. My Camera, My Friend November 6, 2010 at 10:51 AM #

    Streatching yourself can be good for you every so often.

  27. thegeeman November 6, 2010 at 12:00 PM #

    I ran my first marathon in 1983. This was the hardest event of my life. I ran the LA marathon. My best time was a little under four hours. I ran upwards of 120 miles to train for this. I love 10k’s. To trian properly to race one must run at least 120 miles a week. The bad thing about this is that the pounding my legs took I can’t ran as well any more so i just power walk. I ran competitvely for ten years. I hope you do well.

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:43 PM #

      That is awesome. Thanks for sharing. Yeah, I’m planning to train using the Galloway run/walk method to try and prevent some injuries. Plus I strength train pretty heavily, so I’m hoping that will keep my legs safe. ::)

  28. meera November 6, 2010 at 12:03 PM #

    Streatching yourself can be good for you every so often.

  29. meera November 6, 2010 at 12:04 PM #

    IT IS REALLY AMAZING

  30. ....the little thread of thoughts November 6, 2010 at 1:10 PM #

    Happy Marathoning…It’s nice to see all that enthusiasm, keep the spirit on.

  31. inidna November 6, 2010 at 2:08 PM #

    Wow, that all sounds very intense! I think I might have to pick up that book some day! I’ve always admired marathon runners 🙂 Good luck with your training and the race!

  32. Laura November 6, 2010 at 5:10 PM #

    I loved this post! I am working on getting ready for my first 5k in Dec 2010. I’m going to get the Liz Robbins book for inspiration. Thanks!

    • Noel D. November 6, 2010 at 6:42 PM #

      Good for you!!!! Good luck on your first 5K. I cried when I crossed the finish line after my first. It’s an awesome feeling. 🙂

  33. myvisitplaces November 6, 2010 at 8:34 PM #

    That is awesome. Thanks for sharing the blog. I am looking for a long marathon

  34. Sudhir Krishnan November 7, 2010 at 1:25 AM #

    I am going to run the 6km dream run in Mumbai on 16th January 2011.I am practicing.Hopefully it must be a successful attempt.

  35. JennieRuns November 7, 2010 at 6:26 AM #

    Good luck with reaching your goals! And, thanks for the book suggestion!

    Have you tried “Chicken Soup for the Soul: Runners” that just came out? It’s a bunch of different inspiring stories of people who’ve raced — 5Ks all the way to full out Ultra-Marathons. The introduction is by Dean K? He’s a famous runner… can’t remember his last name, but I think another commenter here mentioned him. It’s an awesome book that I’m hoping to get a copy of for Christmas (when I read it, it was via the local Library). 😉

    I have yet to run anything… but I’m aiming to one day do at least a 1/2. Right now, the longest I can run for is 1.5 MINUTES! LOL. Babysteps, though, right?

    JennieRuns

    • belleofthecarnival November 7, 2010 at 11:10 AM #

      Thanks for the reccomendation! I would love to read it to keep me inspired!

      1.5 minutes was about all I could run when I started – it is all about baby steps and just getting out there…Keep up the good work and positive spirit! You will be running that 1/2 in no time!

    • Noel D. November 7, 2010 at 4:54 PM #

      I’ll check out that book. I got “How Running Changed My Life,” but I haven’t started it yet.

  36. vicky November 7, 2010 at 6:58 AM #

    should participate in the run. hopefully

  37. belleofthecarnival November 7, 2010 at 11:08 AM #

    That’s awesome! Best of luck! I plan to run my first marathon in 2012. It seems far off, but I have goals set in place, and hopefullyI will be ready!

  38. julieblueshoes November 7, 2010 at 4:55 PM #

    I’m running in my first marathon in 3 weeks. Yesterday I ran my longest run yet, 20 miles. I now know what “hitting the wall” means. It happened at mile 18. My leg muscles were crying out to stop. I felt aches, pains, and twinges that I never felt before. The top half of my body didn’t want to stop. Luckily my arms kept me on pace and I’m pleased to say my upper body won! It has been an amazing year of training and it’s been quite a journey for my 50th birthday year. Enjoy your journey!

    • Noel D. November 7, 2010 at 5:05 PM #

      AWESOME! Good luck to you. What an amazing achievement. 🙂 You can totally do it. 😛

  39. mrscummingsrx November 7, 2010 at 6:47 PM #

    you go girl! just ran two 1/2 marathons this past year in Seattle….now taking a break. running is tough, all the training takes so much dedication! definitely an empowering exercise though 🙂

  40. Neil November 8, 2010 at 12:43 AM #

    Running one’s first marathon is an amazing experience! In South Africa the running calender culminates in the Comrades Marathon (www.comrades.com), a 56 mile race between the towns of Durban and Pietermaritzburg. All the other marathons and ultras on the country’s race calender are essentially used as training and qualifying events for this (you need a sub 5 marathon to qualify). I started running in June, first half-marathon in September, 20 mile November, marathon January, thereafter a marathon a month till Comrades at the end of May!

    So with focus and dedication a marathon is totally doable! And once you’ve done a marathon, consider the Comrades – a little easier to enter than the NYC marathon!

    • Noel D. November 8, 2010 at 5:38 AM #

      I’ve read about the Comrades. The last issue of Runners World had an article about it. Sounds extremely, extremely intimidating. I’m scared to death of a marathon! LOL Maybe some day I could do the Comrades, but serious kudos to you for doing it. WOW.

  41. momentarilyfinite November 8, 2010 at 7:36 AM #

    I thought I couldn’t run to save my life. Then one day I did and turns out I’m not that bad at it. It actually felt good. But I haven’t ran in awhile. I’m addicted to bed.

  42. momentarilyfinite November 8, 2010 at 7:37 AM #

    And OH MY GOD! You cite SparkPeople.com. Awesome website. I recommend it for everyone.

    • Noel D. November 8, 2010 at 6:24 PM #

      Yeah it’s a great site, especially the support it offers in all the forums.

  43. Erin Lindsay November 10, 2010 at 12:40 AM #

    Good job! I have always wanted to run it. The marathon here in Phoenix is supposed to be pretty good too. It’s in January so the weather will be perfect!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in review | The Skinny Pink Ninja - January 2, 2011

    […] The busiest day of the year was November 6th with 2 views. The most popular post that day was T-3 Days Until NYC Marathon. […]

Leave a comment